Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Sport

Sidney Crosby shouting as he realizes the Canadian Men’s Hockey Team has won the 2010 Vancouver Olympics gold medal game.

Gold medals aren’t really made of gold. They’re made of sweat, determination, and a hard-to-find alloy called guts.
— Dan Gable

Great achievements in sport are rewarded with gold medals, illustrating once again the high esteem we place upon gold. These are just a few of the Nova Scotian athletes who have all reached great heights and have tasted gold as their prize.

Buddy Daye – Canadian Lightweight Boxing Champion

A photograph of boxing champion Buddy Daye.

Boxing Champion Buddy Daye.

Photo courtesy of Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

World Boxing Champion gold medal.

Gold Medal, 1964 Canadian Lightweight Boxing Championship.

Courtesy of the Daye Family

New Glasgow’s Desmond “Buddy” Daye was described as being "quick as a cat on his feet, fast with his hands and tough as nails." Buddy won the Canadian Lightweight Championship title after twelve brutal rounds on June 30, 1964 at the Halifax Forum.

Aileen Meagher – Olympic Runner

A photograph of Olympic runner Aileen Meagher in a crouched start position.

Aileen Meagher.

Photo courtesy of Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

Haligonian Aileen Meagher, a highly decorated runner, won gold at the 1934 Empire Games in the 4x100 m, and a bronze medal at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin in the 4x100 m relay. Aileen ran when it wasn’t widely accepted for women to run, breaking ground for many who would follow in her footsteps.

Bob Mills - Olympic Rower

A photograph of Olympic rower Bob Mills in a rowing scull on Lake Banook.

Bob Mills.

Photo Courtesy of Bob Mills.

Weeks before the 1984 Olympics, Bob gave up his seat in the quad to take a shot at winning a spot on the Olympic team as a single sculler. He won the bronze medal at the 1984 Olympics in men’s single sculls, followed the next year by gold in the men’s quad at the World Championships.

Sidney Crosby – Nova Scotia’s Hockey Hero

A photograph of Sidney Crosby holding his Vancouver 2010 Olympic medal.

Sidney Crosby.

Photo courtesy of The Canadian Press.

From Cole Harbour, Sidney is one of the most talented and honoured hockey players in the NHL, having received the Art Ross Trophy, the Hart Memorial Trophy, Professional Hockey Writers Association MVP, Lester B. Pearson Award, the Rocket Richard Trophy, and the Mark Messier Leadership Award. Sidney has won the Stanley Cup and numerous medals representing Canada at various championships. His most celebrated moment to date is perhaps his game-winning goal for the team hockey gold medal, scored in overtime at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics.

Paul Tingley – Paralympic and World Champion Sailor

 A photograph of Paralympic sailor Paul Tingley.

Paul Tingley

Photo courtesy of Paul Tingley

At the age of twenty-four, Paul was in a skiing accident that caused permanent damage to his spinal cord. After enrolling in a Sail Able sailing program, Paul went on to win numerous medals, including a gold at the 2008 Summer Paralympics in the 2.4 m class and gold at the 2010 World Championships.

Colleen Jones - Curler

A photograph of curler Colleen Jones throwing a rock.

Colleen Jones

Photo courtesy of Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

2004 Continental Cup gold medal.

Gold Medal, 2004 Continental Cup.

Courtesy of Colleen Jones

Curling out of the Mayflower Curling Club, Colleen skipped two women’s world championship gold teams and six Scotties Tournament of Hearts Canadian national women’s championships gold teams. Colleen continues to curl and hopes to represent Canada at the 2014 Winter Olympics.

Michael Thomas – Mi'kmaq Running Legend

A photograph of Mi'kmaq runner Michael Thomas.

Michael Thomas

Courtesy of the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame

Photograph of the Evening Mail medal, similar to what Thomas would have won.

Gold Medal, 1908 Evening Mail 10 Mile Road Race – similar to what Mick Thomas would have won.

Courtesy of the Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

Michael "Mick" Thomas was one of the most accomplished long distance runners to hail from Prince Edward Island. Mick won the Charlottetown Patriot 10 mile race in 1909, 1910, and 1911, and won the Halifax Herald-Mail 10 mile race in 1910, 1911, and 1912 – the race long considered the most prestigious running event in Eastern Canada. Mick ran the Boston Marathon in 1911, placing 26th overall, with a time better than that of the winner two years prior.

Emily Latta - Snowshoeing, Special Olympics

Photograph of Emily Latta on the podium at the 2012 National Winter Games.

Emily Latta

Photo courtesy of Shelly Latta

Special Olympian Emily Latta won the 800 m snowshoeing competition at the 2012 National Winter Games in St. Albert, Alberta after training as much as five times per week. The lack of snow in Nova Scotia didn’t deter Emily from her goal – she focused her training efforts on building endurance in running and weight training.

Carmaine Walker - Senior Athlete

Photograph of Carmaine Walker, senior athlete.

Carmaine Walker

Photo courtesy of Rhonda Walker.

Cape Bretoner Carmaine Walker had no idea of her own strength and competitive spirit until she entered the Good Life Games of Pinellas County, Florida, where she spends time in the winter. The games are held annually to promote a healthy lifestyle and athletic and recreational competition for seniors. Carmaine won gold in 2011 in both the fitness challenge and weight lifting categories, and a gold in 2012 in weightlifting.

Mark Smith, Softball Champion

Mark Smith, Softball champion, in mid swing of the bat.

Mark Smith

Photo courtesy of Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

1979 Pan American Softball gold medal.

Gold Medal, 1979 Pan American Softball

Courtesy of Mark Smith

Robert "Mark" Smith had an impressive 25-year international softball career, during which time he was considered one of the best pitchers in the world. He won two International Softball Federation World Championships and three Pan American gold medals – two as a player and one as a coach, among many other accolades.

Halifax Dunbrack Soccer Team

Halifax Dunbrack soccer team members and coaches posed together on a soccer field.

Dunbrack Soccer Team

Photo courtesy of Gary Carter

Halifax Dunbrack won the 2010 BMO National Championships held in Charlottetown, PEI. Pictured are head coach Gary Carter, Assistant Coach Jack Hutchison, Manager Cindy Morrison, team members Hannah Abenheimer, Jenna Blackburn, Julia Burton, Kelly Chrisholm, Mel Clarke, Liz Cook, Leanne DeKoe, Kim Hardy, Jeannette Huck, Leanne Huck, Julia Lawrence, Kate MacDonald, Teresa Morrison, Danielle Purcell, Ally Read, Katie Richard and Rieka Santilli.

Al McInnis - NHL All Star and Hockey Hall of Famer

Photograph of Al McInnis on the ice at the 2011 Heritage Classic in Calgary

Al McInnis

Photo courtesy of Resolute

Al McInnis, famous for the strength and speed of his slapshot, was born in Inverness, Cape Breton and grew up playing hockey in Port Hood. Al played 23 seasons in the NHL for the Calgary Flames and the St. Louis Blues. He was a 13-time All Star, winner of the Conn Smyth Trophy and the James Norris Memorial Trophy, Stanley Cup Champion, Canada Cup Champion, and a member of the gold winning 2002 Olympic hockey team. Al was elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2007.

"There's hard and then there's Al MacInnis hard. I tried to get out of the way. If it happens too often, you have to sit down and re-evaluate what you're doing with your life." Goaltender Mike Liu talking about MacInnis' slapshot.

Karen Furneaux – Olympic and World Champion Kayaker

A photograph of Karen Furneaux in competition.

Karen Furneaux.

Courtesy of the Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

Haligonian Karen Furneaux started paddling when she was 12 and the sport quickly became her life’s passion. A member of the national team since 1994, and one of Canada’s most decorated sprint kayakers, Karen has represented Canada at three Olympic games and has won two gold medals at the World Championships.

Tracy Cameron, Olympic and World Champion Rower

Photograph of World Championship winning rower Tracy Cameron.

Tracy Cameron

Courtesy of Tracy Cameron

Two gold medals from the 2005 and 2010 World Rowing Championships.

Two World Rowing Championship gold medals.

Courtesy of Tracy Cameron

Shubenacadie resident Tracy Cameron had childhood dreams of being an Olympian. Tracy first picked up an oar at the age of 25, while at the University of Calgary. After unsuccessful attempts to make the national team as a heavy weight rower, Tracy safely lost enough weight and in 2005, joined the lightweight team. That same year, she won gold in the women's lightweight quad at the World Championships. Tracy and her partner won bronze in the lightweight double sculls at the 2008 Beijing Olympics. In 2010, Tracy was once again crowned World Champion and has won a host of other medals.

Mike Forgeron, Olympic and World Champion Rower

Photograph of Mike Forgeron with a gold medal around his neck and holding a bouquet.

Mike Forgeron

Courtesy of the Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

Cape Bretoner Mike Forgeron began rowing as a student before joining the Canadian National Rowing team. He represented Canada at both the 1992 and 1996 Olympics. In 1992, Mike was part of the 8 man crew that won gold in a race that was won by a 0.13 seconds.

I enjoyed racing when I was doing it because I got to put Nova Scotia on the world stage for my sport and show people across the province that we had competitive athletes and we were the best in the world and that we can achieve goals.

Steve Giles, Olympic and World Champion Canoeist

World Championship winning canoeist Steve Giles holding the Canadian and Nova Scotian flags.

Steve Giles

Courtesy of the Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

Lake Echo native Steve Giles started paddling at the age of eight and spent sixteen years as a member of the Canadian National Canoe team. During that time, he earned numerous medals on the national and international stage including gold at the 1998 World Championships in the C1 1000 m and bronze at the 2000 Sydney Olympics.

Johnny Miles, Marathon Man

A black and white photograph of marathon man Johnny Miles.

Johnny Miles.

Courtesy of the Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

The greatest upset in the history of the Boston Marathon happened in 1926 when 22-year-old Cape Bretoner Johnny Miles placed first in the very first marathon he had ever run, all while wearing a pair of 98-cent sneakers and a homemade jersey emblazoned with a red maple leaf. Johnny won the Boston Marathon again in 1929, represented Canada at both the 1928 and 1932 Olympics, and won numerous local, national and international races. Johnny is a member of the Order of Canada, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame, and The Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame.

Sport

Sidney Crosby criant qu'il réalise l'équipe de hockey masculine canadienne a remporté le Jeux olympiques de Vancouver match pour la médaille d'or 2010.

« Les médailles ne sont pas réellement faites d’or. Elles sont faites de sueur, de détermination et d’un alliage difficile à trouver appelé le cran. »
— Dan Gable

Les grandes réalisations dans les sports sont récompensées par des médailles d’or, geste qui illustre encore une fois la haute valeur que nous accordons à l’or. Ces athlètes néo-écossais ont tous fait preuve de grandeur et été récompensés par l’or.

Buddy Daye – champion boxeur poids léger canadien

Photographie de champion boxeur Buddy Daye.

Champion de boxe, Buddy Day.

Photo gracieusement fournie par le Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame.

Médaille du champion mondial de boxe

Médaille d’or, Championnat canadien des poids légers de 1964.

Photo fournie gracieusement par le Daye famille

Desmond « Buddy » Daye de New Glasgow a été décrit comme un boxeur « extrêmement agile sur ses pieds, aux poings rapides et très coriace ». Buddy a remporté le titre de champion poids léger canadien après 12 rounds brutaux le 30 juin 1964 au Forum d’Halifax.

Aileen Meagher – coureuse olympique

Photographie de la coureuse olympique Aileen Meagher en position accroupie de départ

Aileen Meagher.

Photo gracieusement fournie par le Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame.

La coureuse haligonienne Aileen Meagher a remporté de nombreuses médailles dont l’or au relais 4 x 100 m lors des Jeux de l’Empire de 1934 et le bronze au relais 4 x 100 m lors des Jeux olympiques de 1936 à Berlin. Elle a couru à une époque où la course chez les femmes n’était généralement pas bien vue. Elle a donc ouvert la voie à de nombreuses femmes.

Bob Mills, rameur, champion olympique et champion mondial

Photographie du rameur olympique Bob Mills dans une embarcation  d'aviron de couple sur le lac Banook.

Bob Mills.

Photo fournie gracieusement par Bob Mills.

Quelques semaines avant les Jeux olympiques de 1984, Bob Mills a cédé sa place dans l’équipe de quatre de couple pour tenter d’obtenir une place au sein de l’équipe olympique comme skiffeur. Résultat : il a remporté la médaille de bronze dans la compétition de rameurs de couple. L’année suivante, il a remporté l’or dans la compétition quatre de couple aux Championnats du monde. Bob a remporté beaucoup d’autres victoires au cours des années.

Sidney Crosby, hockeyeur, héros de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Photographie de Sidney Crosby tenant sa médaille olympique 2010 á Vancouver.

Sidney Crosby.

Photo fournie gracieusement par la Presse canadienne.

Originaire de Cole Harbour, Sidney Crosby est le Capitaine des Penguins de Pittsburg. L’un des joueurs les plus talentueux de la Ligue nationale de hockey, il a remporté de nombreux prix et trophées, notamment les trophées Art Ross et Art Memorial, la désignation de « joueur le plus utile » par la Professional Hockey Writers Association, le prix Lester B. Pearson, le trophée Rocket Richard et le Trophée Leadership Mark Messier. Il a remporté la coupe Stanley et de nombreuses autres médailles en représentant le Canada à divers championnats. Sa prestation la plus célébrée jusqu’à présent est probablement le but vainqueur compté en prolongation pour la médaille d’or aux Jeux olympiques de Vancouver, en 2010.

Paul Tingley, champion paralympique et champion mondial de voile

Photographie de l’adepte de la voile paralympique Paul Tingley.

Paul Tingley

Photo fournie gracieusement par Paul Tingley.

Paul Tingley a eu, à l’âge de 24 ans, un accident de ski qui a causé des dommages permanents à sa moelle épinière. Après avoir suivi le programme de voile « Sail Able », Paul a continué de s’adonner à ce sport et il a gagné de nombreuses médailles, notamment la médaille d’or dans la catégorie de 2,4 m lors des Jeux paralympiques d’été de 2008 et la médaille d’or aux Championnats du monde de 2010.

Colleen Jones – joueuse de curling

Photographie de la curleuse Colleen Jones en train de lancer une pierre.

Colleen Jones

Photo fournie gracieusement par le Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame.

Médaille d’or de la coupe Continental de 2004.

Médaille d’or, Coupe Continental de 2004.

Photo gracieusement fournie par Colleen Jones

Membre du Club de curling Mayflower, Colleen Jones a mené son équipe de curling à la victoire à deux reprises lors des Championnats mondiaux et à six victoires au Tournoi des coeurs® Scotties® et championnat canadien de curling féminin. Colleen joue toujours au curling et espère représenter le Canada aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2014.

Michael Thomas – légende mi’kmaw de la course

Photographie du coureur mi'kmaq  Michael Thomas.

Michael Thomas

Photo gracieusement fournie par le Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

Photographie de la médaille Evening Mail, semblable à celle que Thomas aurait remportée.

Médaille d’or, course sur route Evening Mail (10 milles) de 1908, semblable à la médaille qu’aurait gagnée Mick Thomas.

Photo gracieusement fournie par le Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

Michael « Mick » Thomas a été l’un des coureurs de fond les plus accomplis originaires de l’Île-du-Prince Édouard. Mick a remporté la course Charlottetown Patriot (10 milles) en 1909, en 1910 et en 1911, et la course Halifax Herald Mail (10 milles) en 1910, en 1911 et en 1912. Cette course était la plus prestigieuse organisée dans l’Est du Canada à l’époque. Mick a participé au marathon de Boston en 1911, se classant 26e au classement général, avec un meilleur temps que le vainqueur du marathon deux ans plus tôt.

Emily Latta - raquetteuse, Jeux olympiques spéciaux

Photographie d’Emily Latta sur le podium des Jeux d’hiver nationaux de 2012.

Emily Latta

Photo gracieusement fournie par Shelly Latta.

L’olympienne spéciale Emily Latta a remporté le 800 m en raquettes aux Jeux nationaux d’hiver d’Olympiques spéciaux de 2012 à St. Albert, en Alberta, après s’être entraînée jusqu’à cinq fois par semaine. Le manque de neige en Nouvelle-Écosse n’a pas découragé Emily qui a concentré ses efforts à améliorer son endurance à la course et à s’entraîner avec des poids.

Carmaine Walker - Athlète aînée

Photographie de Carmaine Walker, athlète aînée

Carmaine Walker

Photo gracieusement fournie par Rhonda Walker.

La Cap-Bretonnaise Carmaine Walker ignorait qu’elle possédait une telle force et un tel esprit de compétition avant de participer aux « Good Life Games » du comté de Pinellas, en Floride, où elle passe une partie de l’hiver. Ces jeux annuels visent à encourager un style de vie sain et la compétition athlétique et récréative chez les aînés. Carmaine a remporté l’or dans les catégories de la condition physique et de l’haltérophilie en 2011, et l’or en haltérophilie en 2012.

Mark Smith, Champion du softball

Mark Smith, champion de softball, au milieu de son élan au bâton.

Mark Smith

Photo gracieusement fournie par le Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

Médaille d’or de softball aux Jeux panaméricains de 1979.

Médaille d’or de softball aux Jeux panaméricains de 1979.

Photo gracieusement fournie par Mark Smith

Le joueur de softball Robert « Mark » Smith a eu une carrière internationale impressionnante échelonnée sur 25 ans. Il était considéré comme l’un des meilleurs lanceurs au monde. Il a entre autres gagné deux championnats mondiaux de l’International Softball Federation et trois médailles d’or aux Jeux panaméricains, deux comme joueurs et une comme entraîneur.

Équipe de soccer Halifax Dunbrack

Les membres et entraîneurs de l’équipe de soccer Dunbrack d’Halifax posent ensemble sur un terrain de soccer.

Équipe de soccer Dunbrack

Photo fournie gracieusement par Gary Carter.

L’équipe Halifax Dunbrack a remporté le Championnat national BMO 2010 qui a eu lieu à Charlottetown, à l’Î.-P.-É. Sur la photo, l’entraîneur Gary Carter, l’entraîneur adjoint Jack Hutchison, la gestionnaire Cindy Morrison, et les joueuses Hannah Abenheimer, Jenna Blackburn, Julia Burton, Kelly Chrisholm, Mel Clarke, Liz Cook, Leanne DeKoe, Kim Hardy, Jeannette Huck, Leanne Huck, Julia Lawrence, Kate MacDonald, Teresa Morrison, Danielle Purcell, Ally Read, Katie Richard et Rieka Santilli.

Al McInnis – joueur étoile de la LNH intronisé au Temple de la renommée du hockey

Photographie d'Al McInnis sur la glace à la Classique Héritage de 2011 à Calgary.

Al McInnis

Photo fournie gracieusement par Resolute

Al McInnis, réputé pour la force et la vitesse de son lancer frappé et originaire d’Inverness au Cap-Breton, a grandi en jouant au hockey à Port Hood. Al a joué 23 saisons au sein de la LNH pour les Flames de Calgary et les Blues de St. Louis. Il a joué 13 fois au sein de l’équipe d’étoiles; il a remporté le trophée Conn Smythe et le trophée commémoratif James Norris; et il a été champion de la coupe Stanley, champion de la coupe du Canada et membre de l’équipe de hockey olympique de 2002 qui a remporté l’or. Al a été élu au Temple de la renommée du hockey en 2007.

« Il y a les lancers puissants, puis il y a les lancers de la puissance d’Al McInnis. J’essaie de m’enlever du chemin. Si cela arrive trop souvent, vous devez vous asseoir et réévaluer ce que vous êtes en train de faire de votre vie », confie le gardien Mike Liu au sujet du lancer frappé de McInnis.

Karen Furneaux – kayakiste sprinteuse championne olympique et championne mondiale.

Photographie de Karen Furneaux en compétition.

Karen Furneaux.

Photo fournie gracieusement par le Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

L’Haligonienne Karen Furneaux a commencé à pagayer à l’âge de 12 ans et le sport est rapidement devenu la passion de sa vie. Membre de l’équipe nationale depuis 1994 et l’une des kayakistes sprinteuses les plus décorées au Canada, Karen a représenté le Canada au cours de trois jeux olympiques et elle a remporté deux médailles d’or à des championnats du monde.

Tracy Cameron, rameuse championne olympique et championne du monde

Photographie de la rameuse Tracy Cameron remportant un championnat du monde

Tracy Cameron

Photo fournie gracieusement par Tracy Cameron

Deux médailles d’or des championnats mondiaux d’aviron de 2005 et de 2010.

Deux médailles d’or des championnats mondiaux d’aviron.

Photo fournie gracieusement par Tracy Cameron

La résidente de Shubenacadie Tracy Cameron rêvait dans son enfance d’être olympienne. Tracy a empoigné une rame pour la première fois à l’âge de 25 ans pendant ses études à l’Université de Calgary. Après avoir tenté sans succès de devenir membre de l’équipe nationale comme rameuse poids lourd, Tracy a perdu avec prudence suffisamment de poids et en 2005, elle est devenue membre de l’équipe poids léger. La même année, elle a remporté l’or aux quatre en couple poids léger féminin aux championnats mondiaux. Tracy et sa partenaire ont obtenu le bronze aux deux de couple poids léger aux Jeux olympiques de 2008 à Beijing. En 2010, Tracy a encore une fois été couronnée championne du monde et a mérité toute une série d’autres médailles.

Mike Forgeron, rameur champion olympique et champion du monde

Photographie de Mike Forgeron,  une m&eacutedaille d'or autour du cou et un bouquet en main.

Mike Forgeron

Photo gracieusement fournie par le Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

Mike Forgeron du Cap-Breton a commencé à ramer lorsqu’il était étudiant, avant de devenir membre de l’équipe nationale canadienne d’aviron. Il a représenté le Canada aux Jeux olympiques de 1992 et de 1996. En 1992, Mike faisait partie de l’équipe de huit rameurs ayant remporté l’or dans une course gagnée avec une avance de 0,13 seconde.

« J’aimais participer aux courses lorsque je ramais parce que je pouvais ainsi mettre la Nouvelle-Écosse sur la scène mondiale au sein de mon sport et montrer aux gens de la province que nous avions des athlètes compétitifs, que nous étions les meilleurs dans le monde et que nous pouvions réaliser nos buts. »

Steve Giles, champion olympique et champion du monde au canoë

Kayakiste vainqueur du championnat du monde Steve Giles tenant les drapeaux du Canada et de la Nouvelle Écosse

Steve Giles

Photo gracieusement fournie par le Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

Steve Giles, originaire de Lake Echo, a commencé à pagayer à l’âge de huit ans et il a été membre de l’équipe nationale canadienne de canoë pendant 16 ans. Au cours de ces années, il a gagné de nombreuses médailles sur les scènes nationale et internationale, dont une médaille d’or aux championnats du monde de 1998 dans le C1 1 000 mètres et la médaille de bronze aux Jeux olympiques de 2000 à Sydney.

Johnny Miles, marathonien

Photographie noir et blanc du marathonien Johnny Miles.

Johnny Miles.

Photo gracieusement fournie par le Nova Scotia Sport Hall of Fame

Le plus célèbre renversement de l’histoire du marathon de Boston est survenu en 1926 lorsque le coureur de 22 ans du Cap-Breton Johnny Miles s’est classé premier dans le tout premier marathon qu’il eut jamais couru, en portant une paire d’espadrilles à 98 cents et un maillot maison orné d’une feuille d’érable rouge. Johnny a de nouveau remporté le marathon de Boston en 1929; il a représenté le Canada aux Jeux olympiques de 1928 et de 1932, et il a remporté de nombreuses courses locales, nationales et internationales. Johnny est membre de l’Ordre du Canada, du Panthéon des sports canadien et du Temple de la renommée des sports de la Nouvelle-Écosse.