Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Gold as Currency

Pile of gold coins and gold bars.

Gold has been used as currency since ancient times. It is found on almost every continent, making it accessible to all cultures.

Gold Coins

The first known use of gold coins was in Anatolia (now Turkey) in 7th century B.C. In the beginning, gold coins were very simply decorated but became more elaborate over time.

Photograph of French Louis d’Or coin.

Historic gold coin recovered from a shipwreck off the coast of Nova Scotia.

NSM Archaeology Collection CfCc-2:763 - Coin-Louis d"Or

A mint mark, "T", visible below the coat of arms indicates this French Louis d'Or coin was struck at the Royal Mint in Nantes on the west coast of France in 1727. The coin was recovered in 2002 by archaeologists, from the wreck of the Auguste, a French ship captured by the British and hired to deport soldiers and officials from Quebec back to France. Enroute to France, the Auguste ran aground at Aspy Bay, northern Cape Breton during a fierce storm in November 1761.  One hundred fourteen crew and passengers drowned and only seven survived.

As gold was rarely used in everyday commercial exchanges, this coin would have seen very little circulation. The coin was likely part of a passenger’s private treasury, perhaps the life savings of a wealthy individual being exiled from New France.

Gold Currency Today

Photograph of the largest Canadian gold coin, which weights 100 kg.

Canada’s largest gold coin, weighing 100 kg.

Photo courtesy of the Barrick Gold Corporation

The largest gold coin in Canada was created by the Royal Canadian Mint. Weighing 100-kg, the coin is 99.999% pure gold and sold at auction for 4.2 million dollars in 2011. For four years, this coin held the title of the largest gold coin in the world, as proven by Guinness World Records in 2007. Australia now holds this title, with their 1,000 kg, 99.99% pure gold coin.

Gold is still used as currency today. This kind of currency is called the gold standard. The gold standard is “a monetary standard under which the basic unit of currency is equal in value to and exchangeable for a specified amount of gold" (dictionary).

The price of gold, per troy ounce, changes daily. Check out today’s latest gold prices.

L’or utilisé comme monnaie

Amas de pièces d’or et lingots d’or.

L’or est utilisé comme monnaie depuis les temps anciens.

Pièces d’or

L’or se trouve sur presque tous les continents, ce qui le rend accessible à toutes les cultures. La première utilisation connue de pièces d’or est survenue en Anatolie (aujourd’hui la Turquie) au 7e siècle avant Jésus-Christ. Au début, les pièces d’or étaient décorées de façon très simple; elles sont devenues plus complexes au fil du temps.

Photographie d’une pièce de louis d’or français.

Pièce d’or historique récupérée d’une épave au large de la côte de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Collections archéologiques du Musée de la Nouvelle-Écosse, CfCc2:763-Coin-Louis d’Or.

Une marque d’atelier, un « T », visible au-dessous des armoiries indiquent que cette pièce, un louis d’or français, a été frappée en 1727 par la Monnaie Royale, à Nantes, sur la côte ouest de la France. Des archéologues ont récupéré la pièce en 2002 de l’épave de l’Auguste, un navire français capturé par les Britanniques et engagé pour déporter des soldats et des dirigeants du Québec vers la France. L’Auguste s’est échoué dans la baie d’Aspy, au nord du Cap-Breton, au cours d’une violente tempête en novembre 1761, pendant qu’il faisait route vers la France. Cent quatorze membres d’équipage et passagers se sont noyés et seulement sept ont survécu.

Comme l’or était rarement utilisé dans les échanges commerciaux quotidiens, une telle pièce aurait très peu circulé. Elle faisait probablement partie du trésor privé d’un passager, peut-être les économies de toute une vie d’une personne riche ayant été exilée en Nouvelle-France.

L’or utilisé comme monnaie de nos jours

Photographie de la plus grosse pièce en or canadienne, qui pèse 100 kg.

Plus grosse pièce en or du Canada, d’un poids de 100 kg.

Photo de la Barrick Gold Corporation

La plus grosse pièce d’or au Canada a été créée par la Monnaie royale canadienne. La pièce, d’un poids de 100 kg, est constituée d’or pur à 99,999 % et elle a été vendue aux enchères au prix de 4,2 millions de dollars en 2011. Pendant quatre ans, cette pièce a détenu le titre de plus grosse pièce d’or au monde, tel qu’en a témoigné le Guinness World Records en 2007. L’Australie détient désormais ce titre avec sa pièce d’or pur à 99,99 % de 1 000 kg.

On utilise toujours l’or comme monnaie aujourd’hui. Nous appelons ce genre de monnaie « l’étalon-or». L’étalon-or est « un système monétaire au sein duquel l’unité de base a une valeur égale à une quantité déterminée d’or contre laquelle elle peut être échangée ». (dictionnaire).

Le cours de l’or par once troy fluctue chaque jour. Vérifiez quels sont les cours de l’or les plus récents d’aujourd’hui.