Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Other Golden Achievements

If there is an award given out, chances are the top prize will be gold. From science, to food and drink, here are some other notable Nova Scotian winners.

Nobel Prize in Physics

The Nobel Prize in Physics is dedicated to "the person who shall have made the most important discovery or invention within the field of Physics".

Photograph of Willard S. Boyle.

Willard S. Boyle.

Photo courtesy of David Boyle

Nova Scotian physicist Willard S. Boyle was co-inventor of the charge-coupled device (CCD) in 1969 at Bell Labs, New Jersey. This microchip was inexpensive and small, making it ideal for many uses, especially in imaging. For example, the CCD allowed NASA to send clear pictures to Earth from space. Perhaps most significantly for society, it made digital photography possible.

Black and white photograph of Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith demonstrating their invention.

Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith present their invention.

Courtesy of Alcatel-Lucent.

Boyle and co-inventor George E. Smith won many awards and accolades. Together, they received the 2009 Nobel Prize for Physics. This international prize recognized the worldwide significance of their invention. Boyle and Smith present their invention in this 1978 video, available on Youtube.

Food & Drink

Award winning food and drink is nothing new to Nova Scotia.

Culinary World Cup

Photograph of award-winning chef Peter Dewar.

Chef Peter Dewar.

Photo courtesy of Peter Dewar

In 2010, Chef Instructor Peter Dewar from the Culinary Arts program at the Kingstec Campus of Nova Scotia Community College (NSCC) was a member of Culinary Team competing at the Culinary World Cup in Luxembourg.

Photograph of Canada’s 2010 Culinary Cup team.

Canada’s 2010 Culinary Team.

Photo courtesy of Peter Dewar

The team received a gold medal for the cold food competition and the hot competition.

Whisky

Photograph of the award winning whisky, Glen Breton Rare.

Glen Breton Rare, Aged 10 years

Courtesy of Glenora Inn & Distillery

The award-winning Glenora Inn & Distillery, Cape Breton, is Canada’s only producer of single malt whisky. At the 2011 International Review of Spirits, held in Chicago, the Glenora Inn & Distillery won two gold medals - one for Glen Breton Rare Aged 10 Years and one for Battle of the Glen, Special Edition Glen Breton 15-Year Old. This Glen Breton Rare, Aged 10 years won gold with a score of 95 points, and was deemed "Exceptional".

Autres réalisations dignes de l’or

Lorsqu’un prix est décerné, il est fort probable que le premier prix soit l’or. Voici quelques autres Néo-Écossais qui se sont distingués en remportant l’or dans les domaines des sciences et des aliments et boissons.

Prix Nobel de la physique

Le prix Nobel de la physique est décerné à « la personne qui réalisera la découverte ou l’invention la plus importante dans le domaine de la physique ».

 Photographie de Willard S. Boyle.

Willard S. Boyle.

Photo gracieusement fournie par David Boyle

Nouvelle-Écosse physicien Willard S. Boyle a été coïnventeur du dispositif à transfert de charge (DTC) en 1969 aux laboratoires Bell, au New Jersey. La micropuce était petite et ne coûtait pas cher, la rendant idéale pour de nombreuses utilisations, surtout en imagerie. Par exemple, le DTC a permis à la NASA d’envoyer à la Terre des images claires de l’espace. Cette découverte est encore plus importante pour la société puisqu’elle a rendu possible la photographie numérique.

Photographie noir et blanc de Willard S. Boyle et de George E. Smith montrant leur invention.

Willard S. Boyle et George E. Smith présentent leur invention.

Photo gracieusement fournie par Alcatel-Lucent.

Boyle et son coïnventeur George E. Smith ont mérité de nombreux prix et éloges. On leur a attribué le Prix Nobel de physique en 2009. Ce prix international a souligné l’importance de leur invention pour le monde entier. Boyle et Smith présentent leur invention dans cette vidéo de 1978, accessible sur YouTube.

Aliments et boissons

Les prix remportés pour les aliments et boissons ne sont rien de neuf pour la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Coupe du monde culinaire

Photographie du chef récipiendaire d’un prix Peter Dewar.

Chef Peter Dewar.

Photo gracieusement fournie par Peter Dewar

En 2010, le chef Peter Dewar du programme d’art culinaire du campus de Kingstec du Nova Scotia Community College (NSCC) a fait partie de l’équipe culinaire qui a participé à la Coupe du monde culinaire au Luxembourg.

Photographie de l’équipe de la coupe culinaire de 2010 du Canada.

Équipe culinaire de 2010 du Canada

Photo gracieusement fournie par Peter Dewar

L’équipe a obtenu une médaille d’or dans la compétition des aliments froids et dans la compétition des aliments chauds.

Whiskey

Photographie du whisky ayant remporté un prix, le Glen Breton Rare.

Glen Breton Rare âgé de dix ans

Photo gracieusement fournie par le Glenora Inn & Distillery

L’entreprise primée Glenora Inn & Distillery, du Cap-Breton, est l’unique producteur canadien de whisky de single malt. Lors de la compétition « International Review of Spirits » tenue à Chicago en 2011, le Glenora Inn & Distillery a remporté deux médailles d’or, l’une pour le Glen Breton Rare âgé de dix ans et l’autre pour le Battle of the Glen, édition spéciale du Glen Breton âgé de 15 ans. Ce Glen Breton Rare âgé de dix ans a remporté la médaille d’or avec un score de 95 points et a été jugé « Exceptionnel »