Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Shaping the Landscape

Hand-coloured print showing the 'barrel quartz' uncovered at Laidlaw’s Farm in Waverley, NS.

"Miners from Waverley called the veins of gold-bearing quartz ‘barrel quartz’ because of the resemblance to barrels or casks laid side-by-side and end-to-end." Parker, 2009.

How has gold shaped the landscape?

Much of the gold in Nova Scotia is found in quartz veins that formed as the surrounding rocks were being folded. The folds were created when Nova Scotia collided with Africa about 400 million years ago.

Anticlines and Synclines

The collision produced folded structures in the rocks called “synclines” and “anticlines”. Synclines look like happy faces, while anticlines look like sad faces.

Photograph showing anticline and syncline folds in the rocks along the shoreline of Nova Scotia.

NSDNR

Simplified illustration of anticline and syncline folds.

Folds that look like happy faces have the youngest rocks at the top and are called synclines. Folds that look like sad faces and have the oldest rocks at its core are called anticlines. Some of the synclines and anticlines are several kilometres wide and create "rock circles" on the surface of the landscape.

Bedford, NS Syncline

Enhanced lidar and photograph image of Bedford, Nova Scotia’s large bowl-like syncline.

PHB Lasermap and NSDNR: Bedford aerial.

Lasermap and NSDNR: Bedford aerial.

This image of Bedford taken from an airplane has been enhanced with LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging), a remote sensing technology that uses millions of beams of lasers to create pictures. It shows a large, bowl-like syncline, viewed from the top down. The alternating layers are gold-bearing quartz and rock. Large landforms like this are much easier to see from the air, and can be found in a number of places throughout the gold districts in Nova Scotia.

Façonner le paysage

Gravure peinte à la main illustrant le « quartz en barils » découvert sur la ferme de Laidlaw à Waverley, N.-B.

« Les mineurs de Waverley appelaient les filons de quartz aurifère « quartz en barils » en raison de leur ressemblance à des barils ou à des tonneaux étendus l’un à côté de l’autre et de bout en bout. » Parker, 2009.

De quelle façon l’or a-t-il façonné le paysage?

La majeure partie de l’or présent en Nouvelle-Écosse se trouve dans des filons de quartz qui se sont formés lorsque les roches voisines ont été plissées. Les plis ont été créés lorsque la Nouvelle-Écosse est entrée en collision avec l’Afrique il y a environ 400 millions d’année.

Anticlinaux et synclinaux

La collision a produit des structures plissées à l’intérieur des roches appelées des « plis synclinaux » et des « plis anticlinaux ». Les synclinaux ressemblent à des visages souriants, tandis que les anticlinaux ont l’air de visages tristes.

Photographie illustrant des plis anticlinaux et synclinaux dans les roches longeant le littoral de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

NSDNR

llustration simplifiée de plis anticlinaux et synclinaux.

Les plis ayant l’aspect de visages souriants renferment les roches les plus récentes sur le dessus et sont appelées des plis synclinaux. Les plis ayant l’aspect de visages tristes abritent les roches les plus âgées dans leur noyau et sont appelées des plis anticlinaux. Certains des plis synclinaux et anticlinaux ont plusieurs kilomètres de largeur et créent des « cercles rocheux » à la surface du paysage.

Bedford, N.-É., pli synclinal

Image photographique lidar enrichie du vaste pli synclinal en cuvette de Bedford, Nouvelle-Écosse.

Vue aérienne de Bedford.

PHB Lasermap et NSDNR

Photographie aérienne de Bedford rehaussée par détection et télémétrie par ondes lumineuses (LIDAR), une technique de télédétection qui utilisent des millions de faisceaux laser pour créer des images. L’image illustre un pli synclinal étendu en forme de cuvette vu d’en haut. Des couches de quartz aurifère et de roches y sont présentes en alternance. Les formes de relief de fortes dimensions de ce genre sont beaucoup plus faciles à repérer du haut des airs et peuvent se retrouver dans un certain nombre d’endroits des districts aurifères de la Nouvelle-Écosse.