Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Rescue at Moose River, Nova Scotia

Dr. D.E. Robertson emerging from the Moose River, NS gold mine after 11 days trapped underground, April, 23, 1936.

Waiting for Rescue

Due to a cave-in, three men were trapped in a Moose River, NS gold mine in April, 1936. Days passed as rescuers tried to find a way into the mine without causing a disastrous cave-in. Water was rising underground and the cold and the damp created great physical discomfort, threatening to drown those entombed. One of three - Herman Magill - died of pneumonia.

Rescue

Communication had been opened with the surface through a narrow hole into which a slender microphone had been lowered. Much of the talk between the trapped men and the rescuers included asking: “Do you think you will be able to get us out today?” Even though they were conserving energy by not speaking or moving, the survivors were weakening.

As Day 10 came and went, Robertson began to hallucinate and Scadding was in extreme pain from trench foot. Finally, at 11:40 pm on April 22, a Stellarton draeger crew broke into the area where the men were waiting.

An hour later and after 242 hours underground, Dr. Robertson arrived at the surface to be greeted by a chorus of "hurrahs" from the crowd. He was able to walk out of the mine. His first words were: "thank you boys".

Salvation Army members who were on hand to support the rescuers led the crowd in singing "Praise God From Whom All Blessings Flow". Journalists trying to capture this historic moment on camera had set up extremely bright magnesium flares to light the scene. However, after being in the dark for so long, the doctors worried that the survivors’ eyes would be damaged and ran around extinguishing the flares.

Dr. D.E. Robertson and Alfred Scadding peering out of a float plane.

Robertson and Scadding were first treated in the field hospital set up at Moose River but were quickly transferred by seaplane to a hospital in Halifax, a much faster and less jarring way to transfer the injured men than the roads at the time.

NSA: J.H. Christian NSARM 1976-91 no. 15 N-0193 and N-0317

Scadding, carried out through the 3-foot wide shaft on the back of a miner, emerged shortly afterwards. Later, due to trench foot, all of his toes were amputated. When the rescuers removed the body of Herman Magill a hush fell over the crowd. You can see silent film footage of Scadding and Magill at British Pathe.

The survivors were airlifted to a Halifax hospital. J. Frank Willis made his last broadcast at 2:00 a.m. Everyone went home. The rescue was finally over.

Celebration and Commemoration

Thanks to the live radio coverage and the drama of the rescue, the event at Moose River left an indelible mark on a generation of Nova Scotians. The survivors and their rescuers were instant celebrities.

A $10 bill autographed by Dr. D.E. Robertson.

A $10 bill autographed by Dr. D.E. Robertson after he survived 11 days underground in the Moose River, NS, gold mine, April 1936.

MOI: I93.6.2

Dr. Robertson’s autograph was sought; the miners who rescued him were feted at a banquet, awarded medals, and some traveled to Toronto to be celebrated there.

Gold medal with the Nova Scotia Coat of Arms.

Medal awarded to the rescuers of 3 men trapped in a Nova Scotia gold mine, 1936.

MOI: I2012.5.2

The engraved back of the medal awarded to the Moose River rescuers.

Reverse of medal awarded to the rescuers of 3 men trapped in a Nova Scotia gold mine, 1936. The engraving reads, 'For conspicuous service, Moose River, NS, April 1936'. This one was presented to A.N. Sample of Stellarton.

MOI: I2012.5.2

Photograph of a large group of people sitting around numerous banquet tables.

To commemorate a strong local tradition of mine rescue, the Town of Stellarton held a banquet to honour its miners and draegermen who had risked their lives at Moose River.

MOI: I91.32.49

Immortalizing the Rescue

Woodcut engraving of Wilf Carter.

Engraving of Wilf Carter.

Courtesy of Lisa Brawn.

Nova Scotia singer Wilf Carter immortalized the Moose River story in the song "Rescue From the Moose River Gold Mine". Along with J. Frank Willis’ radio broadcasts, verses like the one below etched the events of that time in the minds of a generation:

Long days and nights they had laboured
Turned back when great cave-ins fell
While far below patiently waiting
Three men were in one living hell

A cairn commemorating the rescue was erected on the spot where the pipe used to communicate with those trapped still stuck out of the ground. The pipe was incorporated into the monument. This location is of interest to current mining activity in Moose River.

Photograph of a stone cairn commemorating the Moose River rescue.

Moose River commemorative cairn.

Courtesy of Ivan Smith.

Sauvetage à Moose River, Nouvelle-Écosse

Le docteur D.E. Robertson émerge de la mine d’or de Moose River, N.-É., après avoir été prisonnier sous la terre pendant 11 jours, le 23 avril 1936.

L’attente des sauveteurs

Un affaissement a fait trois hommes prisonniers d’une mine d’or à Moose River, N.-É., en avril 1936. Plusieurs jours s’écoulèrent pendant que les sauveteurs essayèrent de trouver un chemin d’accès à l’intérieur de la mine sans causer d’affaissement. L’eau montait sous la terre et le froid et l’humidité avaient créé un inconfort physique considérable, menaçant de noyer les personnes ensevelies. L’un des trois hommes, Herman Magill, est décédé de pneumonie.

Sauvetage

Une communication avait été établie avec la surface au moyen d’un trou étroit à l’intérieur duquel on avait abaissé un mince microphone. Une vaste part des entretiens entre les hommes prisonniers et les sauveteurs reprenaient cette question : « Pensez-vous que vous pourrez nous faire sortir aujourd’hui? » Même si les survivants conservaient leur énergie en évitant de parler ou de bouger, ils s’affaiblissaient.

Le dixième jour, Robertson commença à avoir des hallucinations et Scadding souffrait considérablement du pied des tranchées. Finalement, à 23 h 40, le 22 avril, une équipe de sauveteurs de Stellarton déboucha dans le secteur où les hommes attendaient.

Une heure plus tard, après 242 heures sous la terre, le Dr Robertson arriva à la surface pour être accueilli par un tollé de « hourras » de la foule. Il a été capable de marcher hors de la mine. Ses premières paroles ont été « Merci les gars ».

Des membres de l’Armée du Salut qui étaient sur les lieux pour prêter main-forte aux sauveteurs entonnèrent « Praise God From Whom All Blessings Flow » suivis de la foule. Des journalistes essayant de saisir ce moment historique sur film avaient allumé des fusées éclairantes au magnésium extrêmement brillantes pour éclairer la scène. Les médecins redoutaient cependant que les yeux des survivants puissent être endommagés après que les mineurs fussent demeurés si longtemps dans la noirceur et ils sont accourus éteindre les fusées.

Le Dr Robertson et Alfred Scadding regardant à l’extérieur d’un hydravion.

Le Dr Robertson et Scadding furent d’abord soignés à l’hôpital de campagne monté à Moose River, mais ils furent rapidement transférés dans un hôpital d’Halifax par hydravion, ce qui offrait un déplacement beaucoup plus rapide et moins cahoteux que si on avait emprunté la route.

NSA: J.H. Christian NSARM 1976-91 no. 15 N-0193 and N-0317

Scadding, transporté le long du puits de trois pieds de largeur sur le dos d’un mineur émergea peu après. Il fut plus tard amputé de tous ses orteils en raison du pied des tranchées. Lorsque les sauveteurs sortirent le corps d’Herman Magill, la foule se tut. Vous pouvez voir un court métrage silencieux de Scadding et Magill sur British Pathe.

Les survivants ont été amenés par aéronef dans un hôpital d’Halifax. J. Frank Willis a diffusé son dernier reportage à 2 h du matin. Tout le monde est retourné chez soi. Le sauvetage était finalement terminé.

Célébration et commémoration

L’événement survenu à Moose River a laissé, grâce à la couverture radio en direct et au climat dramatique du sauvetage, une marque indélébile sur toute une génération de Néo-Écossais. Les survivants et leurs sauveteurs sont devenus des célébrités instantanées.

Billet de 10 $ autographié par le Dr D.E. Robertson.

Billet de 10 $ autographié par le Dr D. E. Robertson après qu’il eut survécu 11 jours sous la terre dans la mine d’or de Moose River, N.-É., avril 1936.

MOI: I93.6.2

L’autographe du Dr Robertson était recherché. Les mineurs qui l’ont sauvé ont été fêtés lors d’un banquet, ils ont reçu des médailles et certains se sont rendus à Toronto pour y être fêtés.

Médaille d’or comportant les armoiries de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Médaille attribuée aux sauveteurs des trois hommes prisonniers d’une mine d’or de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1936.

MOI: I2012.5.2

Dos gravé de la médaille attribuée aux sauveteurs de Moose River.

Dos de la médaille décernée aux sauveteurs des trois hommes prisonniers d’une mine d’or de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1936. La mention gravée mentionne « For conspicuous service, Moose River, NS, April 1936 » (Pour services notables à Moose River, N.-É., en avril 1936). Cette médaille particulière a été remise à A. N. Sample de Stellarton.

MOI: I2012.5.2

Photographie d’un groupe nombreux de personnes assises à maintes tables de banquet.

Pour souligner la solide tradition locale de sauvetage minier, la ville de Stellarton organisa un banquet pour rendre hommage à ses mineurs et aux sauveteurs qui avaient risqué leur vie à Moose River.

MOI: I91.32.49

Immortalisation du sauvetage

Gravure sur bois de Wilf Carter.

Gravure de Wilf Carter.

Photo gracieusement fournie par Lisa Brawn.

Le chanteur néo écossais Wilf Carter a immortalisé l’accident de Moose River dans la chanson « Rescue From Moose River ». À l’instar des reportages de J. Frank Willis, les couplets, comme celui qui suit, ont gravé l’événement dans la mémoire d’une génération:

Long days and nights they had laboured
Turned back when great cave-ins fell
While far below patiently waiting
Three men were in one living hell

Un cairn commémorant le sauvetage fut érigé à l’endroit où le tuyau utilisé pour communiquer avec les hommes emprisonnés se dressait toujours hors du sol. Le tuyau fut incorporé au monument. L’endroit présente de l’intérêt compte tenu de ce qui se passe actuellement dans le secteur minier à Moose River.

Photographie d’un cairn commémorant le sauvetage de Moose River.

Cairn commémoratif de Moose River.

Photo gracieusement fournie par Ivan Smith.