Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

The First Gold Rush

People left their lives behind and came in droves to search for gold. The 1871 federal census shows there were 568 miners working Nova Scotia’s gold districts.

Black and white photo of a gold miner at the entrance to an adit at the Waverley Gold District.

Gold miner and others outside an adit in the Waverley Gold District.

NSDNR Index of Historical Mining Photography, Nova Scotia 1870c-1960c.

In 1861, Nelson Nickerson, a farmer from Sherbrooke, had quietly discovered gold in his fields and tried to keep this secret. His gold fevered neighbours were suspicious and watched the Nickerson family closely for weeks. After hearing the sound of hammer on rock, over two hundred people converged on Sherbrooke, and a one-day search yielded over $400 in gold. That same amount of gold in 2012 would be worth over $36,150.

Coloured engraving showing gold miners walking up between a 'street' of wooden shaft houses and tents.

A hand-coloured wood engraving of New Gold-diggings in Nova Scotia: Gold-Street, Tangier, published in the Illustrated London News, September 14, 1861. Based on a drawing by Captain Campbell Hardy.

AGNS: 1995.405

Captain Campbell Hardy wrote in the article which accompanied the engraving of Gold-Street, Tangier in the Illustrated London News that,

"The diggings at Tangier are prettily situated in the forest, about half a mile from the eastern shore of the upper portion of Tangier harbour. A good road has been cut through the dense fir forest to the claims, and though our correspondent once went astray, as, unguided, he left it for some beaten cattle-path, the sound of the blasting rocks and shouting of the diggers soon recalled him to the right direction. Gold-street, as it is called — an assemblage of wooden houses, or rather shanties, raised up at an expense of some £2 or £3 in this country of cheap timber — is the subject of our Engraving. A town suddenly appearing in the midst of the woods, without clearings, fields, or inclosures, full of shops, or rather stores as they are called in America, where anything can be procured, from a crinoline to a bottle of Bass's pale ale, may be certainly reckoned amongst the novelties even of the New World; whilst the universal civility and good manners of its inhabitants would certainly hardly agree with the notions of the character of the gold-digger as forwarded to us from the Eldorados of Australia and California."

Page from the 'The Gold Gazette' with advertisements specifically targeting gold miners.

The Gold Gazette, Saturday, 26 July 1862, p. 1.

NSA Newspaper Collection  

Service and supply companies catering to prospectors, investors, and mining companies flourished during Nova Scotia’s first gold rush. These business were sometimes more profitable than gold prospecting.

Photograph of a gold pick.

Gold pick used at Mount Uniacke.

Museum of Industry, I98.13.73

"…all the farming utensils are housed, save the pick and shovel, which are taken for the purpose of procuring that which we hear almost hourly sounding in our ears, from the lips of every person we meet – GOLD."
— R.T., Economy, N.S., in British Colonist in August 1861.

Joseph Howe

Pastel portrait of Joseph Howe in 1851 by T. Debaussy.

The Honourable Joseph Howe, 1851, pastel by T. Debaussy.

Dartmouth Heritage Society: 1968.002.003

The Hon. Joseph Howe was the Provincial Secretary from 1860 to 1863 and his office was responsible for mineral development in the province. He went to Tangier to investigate the gold rush in 1861. Skeptical, Howe denounced "the richest specimen that I have seen, either at Tangier or that came from thence, is not intrinsically worth half a crown; and all that I have seen put together would scarcely fill a lady's thimble."

Reporting on the gold rush, the Hon. Joseph Howe noted the "buoyant step and flashing eyes of the new comers, just rushing out of the dense foliage, in hot haste to be rich." In contrast, Howe thought those prospecting for a while had "the subdued and doubting expression of those who had been digging and washing all day without a sight of the glittering ore."

La première ruée vers l’or

Des foules de gens ont tout laissé derrière eux et sont partis à la recherche d’or. Le recensement fédéral de 1871 révèle que 568 mineurs travaillaient alors dans les districts aurifères de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Photo noir et blanc d’un mineur d’or à l’entrée d’une galerie d’accès dans le district aurifère de Waverley.

Mineur d’or et autres personnes à l’extérieur d’une galerie d’accès dans le district aurifère de Waverley.

Collection de photographies minières historiques du ministère des Ressources naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse 1870c-1960c.

En 1861, Nelson Nickerson, un agriculteur de Sherbrooke, a découvert de l’or dans ses champs sans attirer l’attention et a essayé de garder sa découverte secrète. Ses voisins, que l’appétit de l’or rongeait, ont eu des soupçons et ont surveillé de près la famille Nickerson pendant des semaines. Après avoir entendu le son du marteau contre la roche, plus de 200 personnes ont convergé vers Sherbrooke et une fouille d’une journée a rapporté plus de 400 $ en or. La meme quantité d’or en 2012 aurait une valeur de plus de 36 150 $.

Gravure en couleur montrant des mineurs d’or en train de marcher le long d’une « rue » de chevalements-abris et de tentes.

Gravure sur bois peinte à la main de Travaux d’extraction d’or en Nouvelle-Écosse : rue de l’or, Tangier, publiée dans l’Illustrated London News, le 14 septembre 1861. Basée sur un dessin du Capitaine Campbell Hardy.

AGNS: 1995.405

Le Capitaine Campbell Hardy a écrit l’article qui accompagnait la gravure Rue de l’or, Tangier dans l’Illustrated London News :

« Les travaux de fouille à Tangier ont cours dans un joli emplacement situé dans la forêt à environ un demi-mille de la côte est de la partie supérieure du port de Tangier. Un excellent chemin a été aménagé à travers la forêt dense d’épinettes jusqu’aux concessions. Même si notre correspondant s’est égaré en une occasion parce que, dépourvu de guide, il avait quitté le chemin pour emprunter quelque piste battue par les bestiaux, le son de la roche qu’on faisait exploser et les cris des excavateurs l’ont tôt ramené dans la bonne direction. La rue de l’or, comme on l’appelle – un assemblage de bâtiments en bois, ou plutôt de baraques de chantier, édifiés au coût de 2 ou 3 £ dans ce pays où le bois d’œuvre est peu coûteux – est l’objet de notre gravure. Une ville qui surgit soudainement au milieu des bois, sans clairières, champs ou enclos, remplie de boutiques, ou plutôt de magasins, comme on les appelle en Amérique, où les gens peuvent se procurer n’importe quoi, de la crinoline à une bouteille de bière blonde Bass, pourrait certainement être considérée une nouveauté, même dans le Nouveau Monde, alors que la civilité et les bonnes manières universelles des habitants font assurément contraste avec les notions que nous avons du caractère des mineurs d’or dont on nous a fait part des eldorados de l’Australie et de la Californie. »

Page de « The Gold Gazette » renfermant des annonces ciblant expressément les mineurs d’or.

The Gold Gazette, le samedi 26 juillet 1862, p.1.

Collection des journaux, Archives de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Les entreprises de services et de fournitures approvisionnant les prospecteurs, les investisseurs et les sociétés minières ont été florissantes pendant la première ruée vers l’or de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Ces entreprises étaient parfois plus profitables que la prospection de l’or.

Photographie d’un pic à or.

Pic de prospection de l’or utilisé au mont Uniacke.

Musée de l’industrie, I98.13.73

« ... tous les instruments agricoles sont rangés, sauf le pic et la pelle, qu’on apporte pour se procurer ce que nous entendons presque constamment résonner dans nos oreilles, des lèvres de toutes les personnes que nous rencontrons, l’OR ».
— R.T., « Economy, N.S. », dans le British Colonist d’août 1861.

Joseph Howe

Portrait pastel de Joseph Howe en 1851, réalisé par T. Debaussy

L’honorable Joseph Howe. Pastel de T. Debaussy, 1851.

Musée du patrimoine de Dartmouth : 1968.002.003

L’honorable Joseph Howe a été secrétaire provincial de 1860 à 1863; son bureau était responsable de la mise en valeur des minéraux dans la province. En 1861, il s’est rendu à Tangier pour enquêter sur la ruée vers l’or. Sceptique, Howe a dénoncé le mouvement : «  L’échantillon ayant le plus de valeur que j’ai vu à Tangier ou en provenance de cet endroit a intrinsèquement moins de valeur qu’une demi-couronne; et tout ce que j’ai vu, mis ensemble, remplirait à peine un dé à coudre. » Howe, 1861.

L’honorable Joseph Howe, relatant la ruée vers l’or, fit part de « la démarche pleine d’entrain et des yeux pétillants des nouveaux arrivants, surgissant tout juste à travers le feuillage dense, impatients de devenir riches. » Par contraste, Howe constata que ceux qui faisaient de la prospection depuis un certain temps avaient « l’expression morose et douteuse des personnes qui avaient creusé et bateyé toute la journée sans apercevoir le moindre minerai qui brille. »