Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

The 2nd & 3rd Gold Rushes: 1896-1942

Black and white photo of showing a man cleaning the plate of a stamp mill.

Compared to the frenzy of the first gold rush, the second and third gold rushes were calm and methodical, yielding much more gold than the first rush. Gold mining companies formed, and individual claims dwindled. Rather than breaking the rock apart by hand with a hammer, dynamite was introduced and used for blasting. Using mercury and cyanide to concentrate gold from ore and more efficient machinery further increased the gold yield.

Owning a Gold Mine

Capital Stock Certificate for 2,500 shares from the Caribou Gold Mining Company.

Capital Stock Certificate from the Caribou Gold Mining Company.

NSA: Miscellaneous Manuscripts Collection, MG 100 vol. 23 no. 46

Minnie Ross Holman from Rockland, Maine purchased the properties belonging to the Baltimore & NS Mining Co. and the NS & Mexican Mining Co. and consolidated them to form the Caribou Gold Mines on March 30, 1908, thus making her the first female co-owner of a gold mining company in Nova Scotia.

Tributer System

Black and white photo of three Waverley, NS tributers at the top of a mine shaft c.1930s.

Waverley Tributers c. 1930s

NSDNR Index of Historical Mining Photography, Nova Scotia 1870c-1960c.

Another way gold was taken from the ground was by tributer miners - individuals or small groups of men that mined small plots of land leased from the companies that owned the mineral claims of the gold district. The tribute system helped keep gold mining alive in lean years, but it was not good for the industry overall as mining was small scale and failed to get deeper deposits of gold. It also paid little attention to safety and clean-up.

How much gold was produced?

A graph showing the amount of gold produced in Nova Scotia since 1862, measured in troy ounces.

A graph showing the amount of gold produced in Nova Scotia since 1862, measured in troy ounces. The 1st gold rush (1861-1876) produced 208,942.85 oz t, the 2nd gold rush (1882-1903) produced 497,842.75 oz t, and the 3rd gold rush (1935-1943) produced 154,319.7 oz t.

This graph shows the amount of gold known to have been produced during each of the three Nova Scotian gold rushes. Not all gold found was recorded as miners sometimes pocketed gold as they left the mines for the day, despite the watchful eye of mine managers. Similarly, companies might under-report their production in order to avoid paying government royalties. By law all mineral producers in the province must pay a royalty on the commodity they produce. The royalty is set as a percentage of the value of the mineral, so the more gold they produced, the more they would have to pay. It is widely accepted that there was a substantial amount of unreported gold.

The Stock Market Crash of October 1929 and the Great Depression likely played a role in the onset of the 3rd gold rush, as gold usually does well in times of recession. In contrast, gold production decreased sharply during both World Wars.

Troy Ounces

Banks weighed gold to give it a cash value based on troy ounces. The troy ounce, a type of weight measurement indirectly derived from the ancient Roman monetary system, is the global standard for weighing and pricing gold. The troy ounce is equal to 31.3 grams. One avoirdupois ounce, the type of ounce used in bathroom scales, is equal to 28.3 grams.

Photograph of an historic hanging balance scale, weights and wooden storage box.

Balance scale, historically used in banks to weigh gold.

MOI: I2010.12.1a-i

Troy ounces are still used to weigh and price gold because the London Bullion Market Association uses mechanical beam balances to weigh gold. The mechanical scales measure in troy ounces - electronic scales have proved unreliable in measuring gold accurately.

Les deuxième et troisième ruées vers l’or

Photo noir et blanc montrant un homme en train de nettoyer la plaque d’un bocard.

Comparativement à la frénésie de la première ruée vers l’or, la deuxième et la troisième ruée vers l’or se sont déroulées de façon calme et méthodique, et ont rapporté beaucoup plus d’or. Des societies d’exploitation ont été formées et le nombre de concessions individuelles a diminué. Au lieu de briser la roche en morceaux à la main à l’aide d’un marteau, on a commencé à utiliser la dynamite. L’utilisation du mercure et du cyanure pour concentrer l’or du minerai et des machines plus efficaci

La possession d’une mine d’or

Certificat de capital actions visant 2 500 actions de la Caribou Gold Mining Company.

Certificats de capital-actions de la Caribou Gold Mining Company.

NSA MG 100 vol. 23 no 46.

Minnie Ross Holman, de Rockland, Maine, a acheté les concessions appartenant à la Baltimore & MN Mining Co. et à la NS & Mexican Mining Co. et les a consolidées pour former la Caribou Gold Mine le 30 mars 1908, ce qui fit d’elle la première femme copropriétaire d’une société d’exploitation de l’or en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Régime de redevances

Photo noir et blanc de trois titulaires de concessions de Waverley, N.-É., au haut d’un puits de mine vers les années 1930.

Détenteurs de filons de Waverley, vers les années 1930.

Collection de photographies minières historiques du ministère des Ressources naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse 1870c-1960c.

Une autre façon d’extraire l’or du sous-sol consistait à faire appel à des mineurs détenteurs de filons, c’est-à-dire des particuliers ou de petits groupes d’hommes qui fouillaient de petites parcelles de terre louées de societies propriétaires des concessions minières du district aurifère. Le régime de l’attribution de l’exploitation de filons a contribué au maintien de l’extraction de l’or au cours des années maigres, mais il ne s’est pas avéré avantageux pour l’industrie dans son ensemble, car l’extraction minière se faisait à petite échelle et négligeait les gîtes d’or plus profonds. Il accordait par ailleurs peu d’attention à la sécurité et au nettoyage .

Combien d’or a-t-on produit?

Graphique illustrant la quantité d’or produite en Nouvelle-Écosse depuis 1862, exprimée en onces troy.

Graphique illustrant la quantité d’or produite en Nouvelle-Écosse depuis 1862, exprimée en onces troy. La première ruée vers l’or (1861-1876) produit 208,942.85 oz t, la deuxième ruée vers l’or (1882-1903) produit 497,842.75 oz t, et la troisième ruée vers l’or (1935-1943) produit 154,319.7 oz t.

Graphique illustrant la quantité connue d’or produit au cours de chacune des trois ruées vers l’or néo-écossaises. Il faut savoir que l’or trouvé n’était pas toujours déclaré. L’or découvert n’a pas été enregistré dans sa totalité, car les mineurs mettaient parfois de l’or dans leurs poches lorsqu’ils quittaient les mines pour la journée, malgré l’œil vigilant des directeurs de mine. Dans le même ordre d’idées, les sociétés pouvaient ne pas déclarer toute leur production pour éviter de payer les redevances gouvernementales. La loi oblige tous les producteurs de minéraux de la province à payer une redevance sur leurs produits. La redevance correspond à un pourcentage de la valeur du minéral, de sorte que plus les sociétés produisaient d’or, plus elles devaient payer des redevances élevées. Il est largement reconnu qu’une quantité substantielle d’or n’a pas été déclarée.

Le krach boursier d’octobre 1929 et la Grande Crise ont probablement joué un rôle dans l’avènement de la troisième ruée vers l’or, car l’or se porte généralement bien dans les périodes de récession. Par contraste, la production d’or a nettement fléchi durant les deux guerres mondiales.

L’once troy

Les banques pesaient l’or pour lui donner une valeur de rachat brute basée sur la valeur de l’once troy. L’once troy, un type de mesure du poids provenant indirectement de l’ancien système monétaire romain, constitue la norme mondiale utilisée pour peser l’or et fixer son prix. L’once troy correspond à 31,3 grammes. Une once avoirdupois, le type d’once utilisé dans les pèse-personnes, équivaut à 28,3 grammes.

Photographie d’une balance peson à ressort, de poids et d’un coffre en bois.

Balance utilisée par le passé par les banques pour peser l’or.

Musée de l’industrie I2010.12.1a-i

On utilise encore les onces troy pour peser l’or et fixer son prix parce que la London Bullion Market Association utilise des balances à fléau mécaniques pour peser l’or. Les balances mécaniques mesurent l’or en onces troy – les balances électroniques se sont avérées peu fiables pour mesurer l’or avec exactitude.