Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Ghost Towns

Photograph of the community of Forest Hill.

Nova Scotia’s three gold rushes led to the creation of new communities from Canso to Yarmouth, along the 300-kilometre stretch of rich gold deposits known as the Meguma zone. Villages sprang up here and there in the forest and along the shore, around mining activity.

Photograph of the last stamp mill in the Oldham Gold District in a state of disrepair.

The last stamp mill at Oldham, 1953.

Photograph by E. G. L. Wetmore. N.S. Archives and Records Management Photo Collection: Places: Oldham.

Ghost Towns

As gold mining peaked and declined throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, so too did the mining towns. In the early twentieth century, many miners left to mine gold and silver in places like Timmins and Cobalt in Ontario as mines in Nova Scotia closed. Those who remained in these communities during down times faced isolation. For example, by 1919, only eight men were employed at the Caribou mines which closed in 1925.

A painting of Goldenville, NS by Joseph Purcell, showing an active winter community scene.

Goldenville, 1986 by Joseph Purcell.

MOI: I95.86.7

At Goldenville, one of the best-known boom towns of the rush, two thousand men once worked the mines, 19 companies were active and the population of the community was upwards of 3,000. By 1871 only 6 of those mining companies remained in operation; in 1872 production fell substantially. By 1950 mining had long ceased and only 50 or so residents remained in the area.

Ruins of a fold mining operation, with just foundation posts remaining.

Ruins of former gold mining operations at Goldenville, NS

N.S. Department of Natural Resources

Today, like many other areas of Nova Scotia, the abandoned landscape of Goldenville still holds traces of a vibrant gold mining past.

Villes fantômes

Photographie de la localité de Forest Hill.

Les trois ruées vers l’or de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont entraîné la création de nouvelles localités de Canso à Yarmouth, le long d’une bande de 300 kilomètres de gîtes aurifères riches appelés la zone de Meguma. Des villages ont surgi ici et là dans la forêt ainsi que le long du littoral, sous l’impulsion de l’activité minière.

Photographie du dernier bocard du district aurifère d’Oldham dans un état délabré.

Dernier bocard du district aurifère d’Oldham, 1953.

Photographie d’E.G.L. Wetmore. Collection photographique de Gestion des archives et des documents de la Nouvelle-Écosse : Lieux - Oldham.

Villes fantômes

Au fur et à mesure que l’extraction de l’or a connu son apogée et a décliné au cours des 19e et 20e siècles, les villes minières ont fait de même. Au début du 20e siècle, de nombreux mineurs sont partis travailler dans les mines d’or et d’argent d’endroits tels que Timmins et Cobalt en Ontario lorsque les mines de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont fermé. Ceux qui sont demeurés dans les localités néo-écossaises pendant les périodes de ralentissement se sont retrouvés isolés. Par exemple, en 1919, seulement huit hommes travaillaient dans les mines Caribou, qui ont fermé en 1925.

Peinture de Goldenville, N.-É., de Joseph Purcell, illustrant une scène locale d’hiver active.

Goldenville, 1986 par Joseph Purcell.

MOI: I95.86.7

À Goldenville, l’une des villes champignons les plus célèbres de la ruée vers l’or, 2 000 travailleurs travaillaient jadis dans les mines, 19 sociétés étaient actives et la population de la localité avait franchi le cap des 3 000 habitants. En 1871, seulement six de ces sociétés minières étaient encore en activité. En 1872, la production chuta substantiellement. En 1950, l’extraction minière avait cessé depuis longtemps et seulement une cinquantaine de résidents demeuraient dans la région.

Ruines d’une exploitation d’or fermée où seuls les pieux de fondation sont demeurés en place.

Ruines d’anciennes installations d’extraction d’or à Goldenville, N.-É.

Ministère des Ressources naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Aujourd’hui, comme dans nombre d’autres régions de la Nouvelle-Écosse, le paysage abandonné de Goldenville présente toujours des traces du passé animé de l’extraction de l’or.