Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Extracting the Gold

Detail of a black and white photograph showing a man cleaning the plate amalgamator of a stamp mill.

In the hard rock gold mines of Nova Scotia, the gold is extracted from the ore first by pulverizing the rock and then using chemicals to remove the gold from the other minerals.

Mercury

Once the ore is crushed into fine sand by the stamp mills it is flushed down a copper plate that is coated with a thin film of mercury on the surface.

Flow diagram showing the mercury-gold extraction process

Diagram showing mercury-gold extraction process.

A blanket can be used to capture gold missed by the mercury-coated copper plate. The ripples of the blanket catch the heavier gold as it is washed over the surface, while the lighter sand is washed away. The washings from these blankets are added to an amalgam barrel, where the gold forms an amalgam with the mercury. The resulting slurries from both the amalgam plate and amalgam barrel are then boiled, evaporating the mercury, leaving behind the gold. Some mercury boils off into the air and some is recaptured and used again.

The impure gold that remains is heated in a furnace to melt the gold into bars or ingots. The slag that remains in the furnace may be sent through the extraction process again to ensure no gold is lost. The sand that is left behind following the blanket and amalgam barrel steps are called tailings and dumped.

The resulting slurry is then boiled, evaporating the mercury, leaving behind the gold. Some mercury boils off into the air and some is recaptured and used again.

The mercury sticks to the gold to form an amalgam – an alloy of mercury and gold in this case - allowing very small quantities of gold to be captured. The resulting slurry is then boiled, evaporating the mercury, leaving behind the gold. Some mercury boils off into the air and some is recaptured and used again.

Diagram showing how the mercury amalgam was boiled to separate the gold from the mercury, which was collected for re-use.

Diagram showing how the mercury amalgam was boiled to separate the gold from the mercury. The mercury was collected for re-use.

A mercury amalgam retort (a sturdy iron pot in which mercury-gold amalgam is boiled to separate the gold from the mercury) is sealed except for a pipe attached to the top of the retort. This pipe allows the mercury vapour to escape. A water jacket around the pipe allows the mercury to cool and condense and the resulting liquid mercury can be collected for re-use. Cold water continually circulates: cold water enters the water jacket through the inlet while warm water leaves by the outlet, allowing the pipe to maintain a consistent temperature. The gold remains behind in the retort.

Photograph of a rusted cast iron container called a 'mercury separator'.

Mercury Separator. Cast iron container called a 'separator', used to separate gold from mercury.

MOI, I90.15.17 a-c

About 10-25% of all mercury used was lost in tailings. Tailings are the fine rock particles and water left over after the gold has been removed.

Photograph of two men collecting mercury from a retort.

Decanting (recollecting) mercury from a retort (at right) in a mill at the Oldham Gold District.

N.S. Department of Natural Resources Historical Mine Photo Collection:

Cyanide

In the late 1800s, cyanide started to be used to concentrate and capture gold from ore in a similar process to the mercury extraction, but is more efficient and loses less gold to the tailings. Once the rock is pulverized, it is mixed with water to create a slurry and a cyanide solution is added. This aqueous cyanide solution dissolves the gold and can then be extracted using a number of different methods.

Black and white photograph of the Seal Harbour Gold Mines Ltd. cyanide mill circa 1930s.

Cyanide mill at the Seal Harbour Gold Mines Ltd. Mine, Lower Seal Harbour Gold District in the 1930's.

N.S. Department of Natural Resources Historical Mine Photo Collection.

The first application in a Canadian gold mine of the cyanide-leach process of gold extraction was at Brookfield Mine in 1893 and it is a process still used today.

Extraction de l’or

Détail d’une photographie noir et blanc montrant un homme en train de nettoyer l’amalgamateur sur plaques d’un bocard.

Dans les mines de roche dure de la Nouvelle-Écosse, on extrait d’abord l’or du minerai en pulvérisant la roche, puis en utilisant des produits chimiques pour séparer l’or des autres minéraux.

Le mercure

Une fois le minerai broyé en un sable fin par les bocards il est dirigé vers une plaque en cuivre dont la surface est recouverte d’une mince pellicule de mercure.

Schéma de traitement illustrant le procédé d’extraction de l’or à l’aide de mercure.

Schéma illustrant le processus d’extraction de l’or à l’aide de mercure.

Un blanchet peut être utilisée pour capturer l'or interrompue par la plaque de cuivre recouverte de mercure. Les ondulations de blanchet retient l'or plus lourd car il est lavé à la surface, tandis que le sable léger est emporté. Les lavages de ces blanchets sont ajoutés à un amalgamateur, où l'or se forme un amalgame avec le mercure. On fait ensuite bouillir la boue obtenue à partir de la plaque d’amalgamation et le amalgamateur pour que le mercure s’évapore en laissant l’or derrière lui. Une certaine proportion du mercure s’échappe dans l’air par ébullition et une certaine partie est récupérée et réutilisée.

L'or contenant les impuretés est chauffée dans un four à se fondre dans des lingots d'or et des lingots. Les scories qui reste dans le four peut être envoyée par le biais du processus d'extraction à encore pour s'assurer de l'absence d'or est perdue. Le sable qui est laissé après les étapes de le blanchet et de baril d'amalgame sont appelés résidus et jeté.

Le mercure colle à l’or pour former un amalgame permettant le captage de quantités infimes d’or. On fait ensuite bouillir la boue obtenue pour que le mercure s’évapore en laissant l’or derrière lui. Une certaine proportion du mercure s’échappe dans l’air par ébullition et une certaine partie est récupérée et réutilisée.

Le mercure colle à l’or pour former un amalgame permettant le captage de quantités infimes d’or. On fait ensuite bouillir la boue obtenue pour que le mercure s’évapore en laissant l’or derrière lui. Une certaine proportion du mercure s’échappe dans l’air par ébullition et une certaine partie est récupérée et réutilisée.

Schéma illustrant la façon dont on fait bouillir l’amalgame de mercure pour séparer l’or du mercure, qui est récupéré en vue de sa réutilisation.

Schéma montrant comment on fait bouillir l’amalgame de mercure pour séparer l’or du mercure. Le mercure est récupéré en vue de sa réutilisation.

Un cornue utilise pour séparer l’or du mercure (un cuve solide en fonte dans laquelle on fait bouillir l’amalgam mercure-or) est scellé avec d'un tuyau fixé à la partie supérieure de la cornue. Ce tuyau permet à la vapeur de mercure de s'échapper. Une chemise d'eau autour du tuyau permet au mercure pour refroidir et le mercure liquide qui en résulte peut être récupéré en vue de sa reutilisation. L'eau froide circule en permanence: l'eau froide pénètre dans la chemise d’eau via l'entrée tandis que l'eau chaude sort par la sortie, permettant le tuyau de maintenir une température constante. L'or reste derrière dans la cornue.

Photographie d’un contenant en fonte rouillé appelé un « séparateur de mercure ».

Séparateur de mercure. Récipient en fonte appelé « séparateur », utilisé pour séparer l’or du mercure.

MOI, I90.15.17 a-c

Environ 10 à 25 % de l’ensemble du mercure utilisé est perdu dans les résidus. Les résidus sont les fines particules de roches et l’eau qui restent après que l’or a été prélevé.

Photographie de deux hommes en train de prélever du mercure d’une cornue

Décantation (récupération) de mercure d’une cornue (à la droite) dans un concentrateur dans le district aurifère d’Oldham.

Collection de photographies minières historiques du ministère des Ressources naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Le cyanure

Vers la fin des années 1800, on a commencé à utiliser le cyanure pour concentrer et capter l’or du minerai au moyen d’un processus similaire à l’extraction au mercure, mais plus efficace et réduisant les pertes d’or dans les résidus. Une fois la roche pulvérisée, on la mélange à de l’eau pour créer une boue, puis on ajoute une solution cyanurée aqueuse. Cette dernière dissout l’or et peut ensuite être prélevée au moyen de différentes méthodes.

Photographie noir et blanc de l’usine de cyanuration de la Seal Harbour Gold Mines Ltd. vers les années 1930.

Usine de cyanuration de la mine de la Seal Harbour Gold Mines Ltd. dans le district aurifère de Lower Seal Harbour au cours des années 1930.

Usine de cyanuration de la mine de la Seal Harbour Gold Mines Ltd. dans le district aurifère de Lower Seal Harbour au cours des années 1930.

La première application du procédé de la lixiviation par cyanuration à l’extraction de l’or dans une mine d’or canadienne est survenue à la mine Brookfield en 1893; le procédé est encore utilisé de nos jours.