Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Consequences of Historical Mining

Photograph of a stamp mill and tailings.

Toxic Tailings

Historical gold mining often profoundly impacted the surrounding ecosystem, leaving behind a toxic legacy. People were not always aware of the impact of specific mining practices on the environment or human health.

Mines created waste rock piles and tailings. Waste rock included all of the rock removed in the process of getting to the gold-bearing ore. Tailings were what remained after the gold-bearing ore was crushed into sand-sized particles in a stamp mill and treated with mercury or cyanide to remove the gold. The tailings were dumped into nearby lakes, streams, or other natural depressions. It is estimated that 3 million tonnes of tailings were generated in Nova Scotia’s gold districts between the 1860’s and the 1940’s.

Children playing with toy cars in tailings sand.

Children playing on tailings in Goldenville.

Photo by Dr. Michael B. Parsons, Geological Survey of Canada (Atlantic).

Prior to a scientific study that revealed the tailings at Goldenville have dangerously high concentrations of arsenic and mercury, community members used the tailings area as a place of recreation for events such as 4x4 rallies.

An aerial view of Montague Gold Mines detailing the amount of arsenic naturally occurring in that area.

This aerial view of Montague (near Dartmouth) shows the “halo” of arsenic that occurs naturally in the soils within and surrounding our old gold districts.

Arsenic

The gold-bearing rocks in Nova Scotia contain naturally high amounts of a mineral called arsenopyrite, which bears arsenic. Any activity that disturbs arsenopyrite-bearing rocks could result in releasing more arsenic into the environment. The production of waste rock piles and tailings only served to further concentrate the already abundant arsenic. Arsenic can cause digestive issues, cancer, brain damage and death in humans and is readily absorbed by fish, shell fish, plants and other wildlife.

Photograph of two mason jars containing tailing samples from Nova Scotia.

Tailings from Montague Gold Mines, NS.

Photograph by Steve Farmer Photography.

These tailings are from Montague Gold Mines and were collected in 2009.The tailings contain 20,340 parts per million of arsenic and 2.3 parts per million of mercury. The arsenic content of the tailings is 1,695 times more than the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment’s allowable guideline.

The Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment has set the allowable guideline of arsenic in soils to be 12 parts per million and 6.6 parts per million for mercury.

Mercury

Mercury was used in the processing of the gold ore; the tailings also have very high levels of mercury. It is estimated that about 10-25% of all mercury used was lost in tailings.

Mercury is consumed by wildlife, such as fish and shellfish, and can cause slower growth rates, reduced fertility or even death. Humans may consume wildlife with high concentrations of mercury, causing similar health issues.

Cyanide

Cyanide was also used to extract gold in historical mining. If cyanide leaks into the environment, its impact is immediate and lethal to people and wildlife. Cyanide does degrade over time, unlike arsenic and mercury, and despite testing, none has been found in the tailings in Nova Scotia.

Abandoned Mine Openings

Black and white photograph of an abandoned mine shaft.

This is an abandoned shaft from the Skerry mine workings at Montague Gold Mines, near Dartmouth.

Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources Photo Collection

Historical mining activity in Nova Scotia has left a large number of abandoned mine sites which may have unsecured open holes and tunnels – an obvious hazard to people. Dangers can include falling into deep holes, drowning in flooded shafts, and encounters with hazardous chemicals. Nova Scotia has implemented a program to identify and secure such sites.

A Home for Bats

Abandoned mine opening.

An abandoned mine opening before a ‘bat cage’ was installed by the Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources.

Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources Photo Collection

The same abandoned mine opening with a grill installed over the opening.

The same abandoned mine with the entranced blocked to let bats in and keep humans out. This makes the space safe for bat hibernation.

Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources Photo Collection

Abandoned mine shafts provide an important habitat for Nova Scotia’s bats during winter hibernation. Bats need very specific environmental and climatic conditions, and need to be in a place where they are undisturbed during the winter. Why do abandoned mine shafts make for perfect winter hibernation sites for bats?

For winter hibernation, bats require

  • 100% relative humidity
  • areas that do not flood
  • areas with no wind or air movement
  • baffling from outside, so that if there is a temperature change it is gradual
  • complexity of habitat - so they can select, at any given time, spots that meet their immediate roosting requirements; and
  • protection from predation (including people) - that is why total darkness is best

Three species - Little Brown Bats, Northern Long-eared Bats, and Eastern Pipistrelles - all have been observed and recorded at old mine sites. People are urged to stay away from these abandoned mines for their own safety as well as for the health of Nova Scotia’s bat population.

Hazards of Abandoned Mines

Headline from the Chronicle Herald, 'Child Drowns in Well'

“Child Drowns In Well”, The Chronicle-Herald, Halifax, Wednesday, 3 July 1963, p.11.

Nova Scotia Archives Newspaper Collection

Headstone of Russell Herman McGrath

Russell Herman McGrath’s headstone.

Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources Photo Collection

Russell Herman McGrath drowned in a flooded abandoned mine opening in Wine Harbour when he was just 21 months old. Russell had been visiting his grandmother when he fell into the unprotected shaft, which was only steps away from the house.

Photograph of an abandoned mine shaft showing the water at the bottom.

The abandoned, flooded mine opening in Wine Harbour where Russell Herman McGrath drowned in July 1963. The marks on the photograph were made by the incident investigator.

DNR: Registry file #71680-30-DA.63

Olive MacLeod was one citizen who wrote to her MLA Alex MacIssac in August 1963 urging him to take action to secure the numerous abandoned mine openings before tragedy strikes again. The Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources has an active program to identify and secure such abandoned mine openings to prevent further accidents.

Conséquences de l’exploitation aurifère d’antan

Photographie d’un bocard et de résidus.

Résidus toxiques

L’exploitation aurifère d’antan a souvent eu des répercussions profondes sur le milieu ambiant, laissant derrière elle un environnement toxique. Les gens n’étaient pas toujours conscients de l’impact de certaines pratiques minières sur l’environnement ou la santé humaine.

Les mines ont créé des résidus et des tas de déchets de roche. Les déchets de roche comprenaient toute la roche extraite pendant l’extraction du minerai aurifère. Les résidus correspondaient à ce qui restait après le broyage du minerai aurifère en particules de la taille de grains de sable dans un bocard, après son traitement au mercure ou au cyanure pour l’enlèvement de l’or. Les résidus étaient déversés dans des lacs, des ruisseaux ou d’autres dépressions naturelles à proximité. On estime que 3 millions de tonnes de résidus ont été produites dans les districts aurifères de la Nouvelle-Écosse entre les années 1860 et 1940.

Enfants en train de jouer avec des voitures jouets dans du sable de résidus.

Enfants en train de jouer sur des résidus à Goldenville.

Photographie fournie gracieusement par Michael B. Parsons, Commission géologique du Canada (Atlantique).

Avant qu’une étude scientifique ne révèle que les résidus des mines de Goldenville renfermaient des concentrations dangereusement élevées d’arsenic et de mercure, les résidents de la localité utilisaient les aires de résidus comme lieux récréatifs pour des activités comme des ralliements de VTT.

Vue aérienne des mines d’or de Montague détaillant la quantité d’arsenic naturellement présent dans cette région.

Vue aérienne de Montague, près de Dartmouth, qui montre les halos causés naturellement par l’arsenic dans le sol des anciennes régions aurifères et les sols environnants.

Arsenic

Les roches aurifères de la Nouvelle-Écosse renferment des proportions naturellement élevées d’un minéral appelé l’arsénopyrite, qui contient de l’arsenic. Toute activité perturbant les roches renfermant de l’arsénopyrite peut entraîner la libération de quantités accrues d’arsenic dans l’environnement. La production de tas de déchets de roche et de résidus a seulement servi à concentrer davantage l’arsenic déjà abondant. L’arsenic peut causer des problèmes digestifs, le cancer, des dommages au cerveau et la mort chez les humains, et il est facilement absorbé par le poisson, les mollusques, les plantes et les autres espèces sauvages.

Photographie de deux bocaux Mason renfermant des échantillons de résidus de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Résidus provenant des mines d’or de Montague, N.-É.

Photographie de Steve Farmer Photography.

Résidus provenant de Montague Gold Mines et prélevés en 2009. Ils renferment 20 340 parties par million d’arsenic et 2,3 parties par million de mercure. La teneur en arsenic des résidus est 1 695 fois supérieure à la norme permise par le Conseil canadien des ministres de l’environnement.

Le Conseil a fixé la norme admissible d’arsenic dans les sols à 12 parties par million et celle du mercure, à 6,6 parties par million.

Le mercure

Le mercure était utilisé dans le traitement du minerai d’or; les résidus contiennent eux aussi des concentrations extrêmement élevées de mercure. On estime qu’environ 10 à 25 % de l’ensemble du mercure utilisé a été éliminé dans les résidus.

Le mercure est consommé par les espèces sauvages, comme le poisson et les mollusques, et il peut ralentir le rythme de la croissance, réduire la fertilité et même causer la mort. Les humains peuvent consommer des espèces sauvages comportant des concentrations élevées de mercure, ce qui cause des problèmes de santé similaires.

Le cyanure

Le cyanure a également servi à l’extraction de l’or au cours des activités d’extraction passées. Si des fuites de cyanure surviennent dans l’environnement, il a des incidences immédiates et mortelles sur les gens et les espèces sauvages. Le cyanure ne se dégrade pas avec le temps, contrairement à l’arsenic et au mercure; malgré les analyses, on n’en a pas trouvé dans les résidus de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Entrées de mines abandonnées

Photographie noir et blanc d’un puits de mine abandonné.

Il y aurait 7 200 entrées de mines abandonnées en Nouvelle-Écosse: 4 500 d’entre elles seraient des vestiges de l’exploitation aurifère.

Collection de photographies minières historiques du ministère des Ressources naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

En Nouvelle-Écosse, l’activité minière d’antan a laissé derrière un nombre important de sites abandonnés sur lesquels il pourrait y avoir des entrées de mine et des tunnels non bouchés, ce qui représente des dangers évidents pour les gens. Parmi ces dangers, il y a les chutes dans des puits profonds, la noyade dans des puits inondés et le contact avec des émanations nocives. La Province a mis en place un programme pour repérer les endroits dangereux et les rendre sécuritaires.

Un refuge pour les chauves-souris

Ouverture de mines abandonnées .

L’entrée de mine abandonnée avant l’installation d’une grille à l’intention des chauves-souris par le ministère des Ressources naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Collection de photographies minières historiques du ministère des Ressources naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

La même ouverture de mines abandonnées obstruée par un grillage.

La même mine abandonnée avec l’entrée bloquée par une grille qui permet aux chauves-souris d’entrer et de sortir mais qui empêche les gens d’y pénétrer. Cela rend l’endroit sûr pour l’hibernation des chauves-souris.

Collection de photographies minières historiques du ministère des Ressources naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

En Nouvelle-Écosse, les puits de mines abandonnés fournissent un habitat important aux chauves-souris. Ces dernières ont besoin de conditions environnementales et climatiques très particulières, de même que d’un endroit où elles ne sont pas dérangées pendant l’hiver, d’où l’utilisation qu’elles font de nombreux sites miniers pour leur hibernation.

Pourquoi les puits de mine abandonnés représentent-ils des lieux d’hibernation parfaits pour les chauves-souris?

Les chauves-souris ont besoin pour leur hibernation:

  • d’une humidité relative de 100 %;
  • d’endroits qui ne sont pas inondés;
  • d’endroits exempts de vent ou de déplacement d’air;
  • d’un chicanage à partir de l’extérieur assurant un changement graduel de la température;
  • d’un habitat d’une certaine complexité leur permettant de sélectionner à n’importe quel moment des points répondant à leurs besoins immédiats de perchage;
  • d’une protection contre la prédation (notamment des gens), ce qui explique pourquoi l’obscurité totale est souhaitable.

On a observé et consigné la présence de trois espèces de chauves-souris qui vivent en colonies : le Vespertilion brun, le Vespertilion nordique et la Pipistrelle de l’Est. Il est fortement recommandé aux gens de demeurer à l’écart des mines abandonnées tant pour leur propre sécurité que pour la santé des populations de chauves-souris en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Entrées dangereuses

Manchette du Chronicle Herald mentionnant « Un enfant se noie dans un puits ».

« Child Drowns In Well » The Chronicle-Herald, Halifax, du mercredi 3 juillet 1963, p. 11.

Archives de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Collection des journaux

Pierre tombale de Russell Herman McGrath.

Pierre tombale de Russell Herman McGrath

Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources Photo Collection

Russell Herman McGrath s’est noyé dans une mine abandonnée inondée à Wine Harbour lorsqu’il avait seulement 21 mois. Il était en visite chez sa grand-mère quand il est tombé dans un puits de mine accessible, à quelques pas de la maison.

 Photographie d’un puits de mine abandonné montrant de l’eau au fond.

Entrée de mine abandonnée et inondée de Wine Harbour où Russell Herman McGrath s’est noyé en juillet 1963. Les marques sur la photographie ont été faites par l’enquêteur.

DNR : Dossier no 71680-30-DA.63

Une citoyenne, Olive MacLeod, a écrit à son député provincial, Alex MacIssac en août 1963, pour le presser instamment de prendre des mesures en vue d’assurer la sécurité des nombreuses entrées de mines abandonnées avant qu’une nouvelle tragédie survienne. Le ministère des Ressources naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse s’est doté d’un programme actif pour repérer et fermer les ouvertures des mines abandonnées en vue de prévenir d’autres accidents.