Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Crushing the Ore

Watercolour painting by Frederick Nichols from the 1860s showing one of the stamp mill buildings at Goldenville.

The earliest gold mining was done by hand, using a hammer and a pick or a gold pan. Dynamite was introduced in the 1870s, allowing miners to dig deeper for gold.

Arrastre

The first use of machinery in the gold rush was in the 1860s at an underground mine in Tangier. The machine, called an arrastre, used a giant stone attached to a wooden arm to crush the gold-bearing rock.

Illustration of an arrastre, a machine that used a giant stone attached to a wooden arm to crush the gold-bearing rock.

Illustration of an arrastre.

An arrastre was a simple machine, powered by animals or motors, designed to speed up the crushing of quartz ore. The ore was placed in the bottom of the arrastre over which were placed large rocks. The rocks were ground over the ore, crushing it and releasing the gold.

Black and white photograph of two men next to a flat stone that was once the base for an arrastre.

Mooseland prospector Eldon Cameron (with hat) and unknown prospector, c. 1936, examine a flat stone that served as the base of a small arrastre mill. Designed and built by an unknown local Mi’Kmaq, it was used to crush gold-bearing quartz at Mooseland at the beginning of the first gold rush. The stone still remains there, near the recorded location of the first gold find.

Photograph courtesy of Sterling Prest.

Stamp Mills

Photograph of a stamp mill and shaft house connected by an elevated rail.

20 stamp mill and shaft house, Guffey-Jennings Gold Mine, Caribou Gold District, 1897.

Photograph by E. R. Faribault. Geological Survey of Canada Photo #5293

Arrastres were replaced by stamp mills – giant machines that crushed the gold-bearing rock. Mills commonly had banks of five stamps with the largest operations having ten banks or fifty stamps. The crashing of the stamps dropping on the ore could be heard from miles around.

In the following videos, Annie Blois Smith, founder of the Waverley Heritage Museum and granddaughter of Cornelius Blois – one of the discoverers of gold in Waverley – explains how gold is brought out of a mine and how a stamp mill operates. You can also watch the videos on YouTube. Lakeview Gold Mine and Stamp Mill.

Lakeview Gold Mine

You must have JavaScript enabled to view this video. If you do not have Adobe Flash, please follow this link to download it from the Adobe Web site: Adobe Flash Player.

Download low-res mp4 - 8 MB

TRANSCRIPT

This is a picture on the wall of Lakeview Gold Mine and it shows the shaft house up at the top of the hill. The gold in the quartz is brought up from the different levels as you see in the picture there and it comes up and it gradually gets to the building at the top there, the shaft house, and then from the shaft house it's brought down into the mill where it's stamped with the stamps and it's crushed into fine sand and the gold is extracted from the sand.

And to show you how that takes place we will move to the stamp mill.

Stamp Mill

You must have JavaScript enabled to view this video. If you do not have Adobe Flash, please follow this link to download it from the Adobe Web site: Adobe Flash Player.

Download low-res mp4 - 14 MB

TRANSCRIPT

To begin with, this is a replica of what a stamp mill looks like at the mines, when the quartz comes from the shaft house it's brought on a trolley and it's dumped onto what they call a "picking board" and if there's any size of quartz that's too big or not appropriate to come down through the system, it's taken off of the picking board.

And the rocks - I call them rocks, but they're quartz it's washed with water, down through these troughs down into here until it lands underneath these.

These are the stamps that go up and down, up and down, and crush the quartz into sand. Each one in a real mill would weigh at least 800 to 1,000 lbs each, so you know the power and weight that is crushing the quartz.

They crushed the quartz into sand, the water flushes the sand through the trough down here and these are lined with some sort of steel which is treated with mercury. And it's the mercury that catches the gold and separates it from the sand.

And then when there's a certain amount of gold on the trays, they pick it off and take it to the smelting house and melt it to brick or nuggets.

Broyage de l’or

Aquarelle des années 1860 illustrant l’un des bâtiments de bocards de Goldenville réalisée par Frederick Nichols.

L’or a d’abord été extrait à la main, à l’aide d’un marteau et d’un pic, ou d’une batée à or. La dynamite a commencé à être employée dans les années 1870. Elle a permis aux mineurs de creuser plus profondément pour trouver l’or.

Arrastre

La première utilisation de machines durant la ruée vers l’or a eu lieu dans une mine d’or souterraine de Tangier dans les années 1860. La machine, appelée un arrastre (bocard à pilon primitif), utilisait une pierre géante fixée à un bras en bois pour broyer la roche renfermant de l’or.

Illustration d'un arrastre, une machine qui utilisait une pierre géante fixée à un bras en bois pour broyer la roche renfermant de l'or.

Illustration d’un bocard à pilons (arrastre).

Un arrastre était une machine simple, actionnée par des animaux ou des moteurs, qui avait pour but d’accélérer le broyage du minerai de quartz. On mettait le minerai au fond de l’arrastre, sur lequel étaient placées de grosses roches. Les roches écrasaient le minerai, le broyant et libérant l’or.

Photographie noir et blanc de deux hommes à côté d’une pierre plate qui constituait jadis la base d’un arrastre.

Un prospecteur de Mooseland, Eldon Cameron (coiffé d’un chapeau), et un prospecteur inconnu examinent, vers 1936, une pierre plate qui servait de base à un petit arrastre. Conçu et construit par un Mi’kmaq de la région dont on ignore le nom, l’arrastre servait à broyer le quartz aurifère à Mooseland au début de la première ruée vers l’or. La pierre se trouve toujours là, près de l’emplacement historique de la première découverte d’or.

Photographie gracieusement fournie par Sterling Prest.

Les bocards

Photographie d’un bocard et d’un chevalement-abri relié par des rails surélevés.

Bocard à 20 pilons et chevalement-abri, mine d’or de Guffey-Jennings, district aurifère de Caribou, 1897. Photographie d’E.R. Faribault. Photo no 5293 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Photographie d’E.R. Faribault. Photo no 5293 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Les arrastres ont été remplacés par les bocards à pilons, des machines géantes qui broyaient la roche renfermant de l’or. Les bocards étaient communément dotés de batteries de cinq pilons et les exploitations les plus importantes pouvaient posséder 10 batteries ou 50 pilons. Le martèlement du minerai par les pilons pouvait se faire entendre à des distances de plusieurs milles.

Dans les vidéos qui suivent, Annie Blois Smith, fondatrice du Musée du patrimoine de Waverley et petite fille de Cornelius Blois, l’un des découvreurs d’or à Waverley, explique comment l’or est extrait d’une mine et comment fonctionne un bocard. Vous pouvez également visionner les vidéos sur YouTube. Lakeview Gold Mine and Bocard.

La mine d’or de Lakeview

Vous devez avoir JavaScript activé pour voir cette vidéo. Si vous n'avez pas Adobe Flash, cliquez sur ce lien et téléchargez-le à partir du site Web de Adobe: Adobe Flash Player.

Télécharger le format mp4 - basse résolution - 8mo

AUDIOSCRIPT

Ceci est une photographie sur le mur de la mine d’or de LakeView. Elle montre le chevalement abri au sommet de la colline. L’or à l’intérieur du quartz est remonté à partir des différents niveaux que vous apercevez sur cette illustration. On l’apporte à la surface et on le met graduellement dans le bâtiment au sommet, là où se trouve le chevalement abri, puis on l’apporte du chevalement abri au broyeur, où il est fragmenté au moyen des bocards et concassé en sable fin. On extrait ensuite l’or du sable.

Nous passerons aux bocards pour que vous voyiez de quelle façon cela se fait.

Bocard

Vous devez avoir JavaScript activé pour voir cette vidéo. Si vous n'avez pas Adobe Flash, cliquez sur ce lien et téléchargez-le à partir du site Web de Adobe: Adobe Flash Player.

Télécharger le format mp4 - basse résolution - 14mo

AUDIOSCRIPT

Pour commercer, voici une réplique de l’aspect qu’a un bocard dans une mine. Lorsque le quartz arrive du chevalement abri on l’apporte dans un wagon et on le déverse sur ce qu’on appelle une « table de triage ». Si des morceaux de quartz sont trop gros ou ne conviennent pas au tri au moyen du système, on les enlève de la table de triage.

Puis les roches – je les appelle des roches, mais il s’agit de quartz lavé à l’eau – descendent par ces goulottes pour aboutir ici, sous ces…

Voici les bocards qui vont de haut en bas, de haut en bas, et qui concassent le quartz en sable. Chacun des bocards à l’intérieur d’un véritable broyeur pèse au moins 800 à 1 000 livres, à titre de renseignement sur la puissance et le poids nécessaires au concassage du quartz.

Ils broient le quartz en sable; l’eau fait couler le sable dans les goulettes ici bas. Celles ci sont doublées d’un certain genre d’acier traité au mercure. Le mercure retient l’or et le sépare du sable.

Puis, lorsqu’une certaine quantité d’or s’est accumulée sur les plateaux, on le prélève pour l’apporter à la fonderie, où on le fait fondre en lingots ou en pépites.