Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Frederick B. Nichols

Watercolour landscape showing a wooden building on a cleared ridge.

Born in 1824 in Bridgeport, Connecticut, Nichols was best known as an engraver and a mining engineer. He apprenticed as an engraver in New York before starting his own business around 1845. He invented and patented a process of relief engraving in 1848, but gave up engraving in 1858 to work on inventions. Nichols moved to Nova Scotia in 1865 with a particular interest in our gold fields and worked here as a chemist, mining engineer and professor of geology. He returned to New York in 1884, where he resumed engraving for a year. As of 1906, he was living retired in Bridgeport.

It is likely Nichols’ work as a mining engineer led to the production of this series of watercolours portraying some of the key gold mining districts and industrial hubs of Nova Scotia. With his background in engraving, he may have considered using these sketches as a basis for prints to publicize the Nova Scotia goldfields.

Watercolour landscape showing two miners working a hoist above a mine shaft.

Oldham Gold District, Whitehead, N.E., c. 1870 by Frederick B. Nichols.

AGNS: 2011.264

Nichols as an amateur artist is typical of his day, heavily influenced by the landscape fashions of the mid-1800s - an extension of the British topographical drawings that so dominated the documentation of Canada. Nichols has chosen to paint idyllic industrial landscapes in a muted, serene palette, minimizing the visual impact of the industry on the land. Little in the images makes the viewer aware of anything other than charming scenes of pastoral beauty or of activity at a safe distance.

Watercolour landscape made of two sheets of paper showing a series of buildings in the background.

Nichols was working on paper of a certain size. To make a wider landscape painting, he painted two images looking in different directions that were put together to show one broad landscape view. This combination of paintings is called a diptych. Uniacke Gold District, Looking NW and Looking NE, c.1870 by Frederick B. Nichols.

AGNS: 2011.256

The two views of Uniacke NE and NW are particularly charming, as they form a diptych for a more extensive scene.

The watercolours show idealised industrial landscapes. While there are some buildings in the distance, the trees are missing and a few drawings have identifiable shafts and men operating them, nothing else indicates this was an active industry.

Frederick B. Nichols

Paysage à l’aquarelle illustrant un bâtiment en bois sur une crête déboisée.

Nichols, qui est né en 1824 à Bridgeport, au Connecticut, est surtout renommé comme graveur et ingénieur minier. Il a travaillé comme apprenti graveur à New York avant de lancer sa propre entreprise vers 1845. Il inventa et breveta un procédé de gravure en relief en 1848, mais il abandonna la gravure en 1858 pour travailler sur des inventions. Nichols déménagea en Nouvelle-Écosse en 1865, intéressé en particulier par nos champs aurifères et il travailla dans la province comme chimiste, ingénieur minier et professeur de géologie. Il retourna en 1884 à New York, où il revint à la gravure pendant une année. En 1906, il avait pris sa retraite à Bridgeport.

Il est probable que les travaux de Nichols comme ingénieur minier aient conduit à la production de la série d’aquarelles illustrant certains des principaux districts d’extraction de l’or et centres industriels de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Ses antécédents en gravure pourraient l’avoir amené à songer à utiliser ses croquis comme base de gravures pour publiciser les champs aurifères de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Aquarelle d’un paysage montrant deux mineurs en train de manœuvrer un treuil au-dessus d’un puits de mine.

District aurifère d’Oldham, Whitehead, N.-É. Frederick B. Nichols, vers 1870.

AGNS: 2011.264

Nichols est, à titre d’artiste amateur typique de son époque, infiniment influencé par les modes paysagistes du milieu des années 1800, une extension des plans qui ont eu une telle importance dans la documentation du Canada. Nichols a choisi de peindre des paysages industriels idylliques au moyen d’une palette douce et sereine réduisant l’impact visuel de l’industrie sur le milieu terrestre. Peu de détails figurant à l’intérieur des images rendent le spectateur conscient d’autres aspects que le charme des scènes de beauté pastorale ou d’activité à une distance sécuritaire.

Aquarelle d’un paysage montrant une série de bâtiments en arrière-plan.

Nichols utilisait du papier d’une certaine dimension. Pour obtenir un paysage plus étendu, il peignait deux tableaux en regardant dans deux directions différentes, qu’il réunissait pour présenter une vue élargie du paysage. On appelle « diptyque » deux tableaux ainsi réunis. District aurifère d’Uniacke, en regardant vers le nord-ouest et vers le nord-est. Frederick B. Nichols, vers 1870.

AGNS: 2011.256

Les deux vues du nord-est et du nord-ouest d’Uniacke sont particulièrement charmantes, car elles forment un diptyque d’une scène plus étendue.

Les représentations à l’aquarelle idéalisaient les paysages industriels. Même si on aperçoit quelques bâtiments au loin, les arbres sont absents et quelques dessins montrent des chevalements-abris reconnaissables ainsi que des travailleurs en train de les manœuvrer, mais rien d’autre ne révèle qu’il s’agissait d’une industrie active.