Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Julius Cornelius

Detail of a gold cross-shaped pendant with mayflowers twining around it and a pearl in the centre-most flower.

Considered by historian and curator Harry Piers to be the "most artistic and skillful designer and maker of gold jewelry, that we have ever had in Nova Scotia", Julius Cornelius was born July 4, 1825, in Prenzlau, Prussia (Germany).

After apprenticing with Rhode, a goldsmith in Prenzlau, Cornelius attended the Berlin Academy of Art in 1836 where he won the King’s medal for design.

14K gold flower earring with garnet centre, made by Julius Cornelius.

Earrings made by Julius Cornelius. 14K gold, garnet flower, gold bud.

NSM History Collection: 72.43.2a,b

Cornelius’s career continued as he worked in Berlin as a goldsmith and jeweller from 1842 to 1845, followed by years spent in Paris, London and eventually Tiffany’s in New York. He finally worked with the H.D. Morse firm in Boston until he came to Halifax in 1855 at the same time as William Herman Newman, another German jeweller.

Newman and Cornelius entered into a short-lived partnership and by April 1857 Cornelius was advertising as an independent jeweller. His ad offered "all kinds of jewelry, hair work, Masonic emblems, etc."

Gold brooch with floral design along the sides and a pearl set in the centre.

Gold brooch with pearl, attributed to Julius Cornelius.

NSM History Collection: 87.92.5

In 1856 he married Henrietta Blackadar, daughter of Henry Blackadar, a barrister and former Member for Pictou County in the NS Assembly. The two had met previously in Boston and eventually had two sons and six daughters. At the end of his life Cornelius retired to New Glasgow because of his wife’s family connection there, dying there in 1916.

With the growth of militia groups in Halifax in 1859, there was a new market for medals shared by the local gold and silversmiths. There were many prizes handed out for shooting competitions and Cornelius had his share of this work.

He won many prizes for his work. In 1862 some of his pieces were shown at the International Exhibition and won first prize and Diploma of Honour for “Best Asst. of Jewellery”. At the 1868 NS Industrial Exhibition he won an honourable mention in the category for “Best Exhibition of Jewelry made from Nova Scotia gold”. There were four entries and the top prize went to John McCulloch.

Gold brooch embedded with garnets made by Julius Cornelius.

Brooch made by Julius Cornelius. Two connected gold ovals embedded with garnets.

NSM History Collection: 72.43.1

In 1864 Cornelius was advertising that he offered the highest prices for Nova Scotia gold. Harry Piers wrote that Cornelius worked "almost wholly in Nova Scotia gold". He was known for using the mayflower motif (Nova Scotia’s provincial flower) in many pieces and favoured using Nova Scotia gold and stones, such as amethyst, agate and freshwater pearls. He engraved local landmarks and historic buildings on souvenir spoons and created medals and badges to order to celebrate the achievements of other Nova Scotians.

Julius Cornelius

Détail d’un pendentif en forme de croix en or entourée d’une tresse de fleurs de mai et incrusté d’une perle dans la fleur la plus au centre.

Considéré par l’historien et le conservateur Harry Piers comme le « concepteur et le fabricant de bijoux en or le plus artistique et le plus habile que nous avons jamais eu en Nouvelle-Écosse », Julius Cornelius est né le 4 juillet 1825 à Prenzlau, en Prusse (Allemagne).

Après avoir travaillé comme apprenti avec Rhode, un orfèvre de Prenzlau, Cornelius a fréquenté en 1836 l’Académie des arts de Berlin, où il s’est vu décerner la Médaille du Roi pour la conception.

Boucles d’oreille en forme de fleurs en or 14 carats dont le centre est incrusté de grenats, fabriquées par Julius Cornelius.

Boucles d’oreilles, de Julius Cornelius. Or 14 carats, fleur de grenat, bourgeon en or.

Collection historique, NSM : 72.43.2a, b.

Cornelius a poursuivi sa carrière en travaillant à Berlin comme orfèvre et bijoutier de 1842 à 1845, puis il a passé quelques années à Paris, à Londres et finalement chez Tiffany’s à New York. Il a enfin travaillé avec la maison H.D. Morse à Boston jusqu’au moment où il est venu à Halifax en 1855, en même temps que William Herman Newman, un autre bijoutier allemand.

Newman et Cornelius ont formé une société en nom collectif de courte durée, puis en avril 1857, Cornelius s’est annoncé comme bijoutier indépendant. Son annonce offrait « tous les types de bijoux, ornements à cheveux, emblèmes maçonniques, etc. » "

Broche en or avec la conception florale sur les côtés et incrusté d’une perle dans le centre.

Broche en or avec perle, attribuée à Julius Cornelius.

NSM History Collection: 87.92.5

En 1856, il épousa Henrietta Blackadar, fille de Henry Blackadar, avocat et ancien député du comté de Pictou à l’Assemblée de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Les deux conjoints s’étaient rencontrés auparavant à Boston et ils eurent finalement deux garçons et six filles. Vers la fin de sa vie, Cornelius prit sa retraite à New Glasgow parce que sa femme y avait des parents et il mourut en 1916.

L’essor des groupes de miliciens à Halifax en 1859 créa un nouveau marché pour les médailles que se partagèrent les orfèvres locaux. De nombreux prix furent décernés pour des compétitions de tir et Cornelius eut sa part du travail.

Il se mérita de nombreux prix pour son travail. En 1862, certaines de ses pièces ont été exposées à l’Exposition internationale et il remporta le premier prix ainsi qu’un diplôme d’honneur pour le « meilleur assortiment de bijoux ». Lors de l’exposition industrielle de la Nouvelle-Écosse de 1868, il obtint une mention d’honneur dans la catégorie des « meilleurs bijoux exposés fabriqués à l’aide d’or de la Nouvelle-Écosse ». L’exposition attira quatre participants et le premier prix fut attribué à John McCulloch.

Broche en or incrustée de grenats fabriquée par Julius Cornelius.

Broche, de Julius Cornelius. Deux motifs ovales en or reliés et incrustés de grenats.

Collection historique, NSM: 72.43.1

En 1864, Cornelius annonça qu’il offrait les prix les plus élevés pour l’or de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Harry Piers écrivit que Cornelius travaillait « presque exclusivement à l’aide d’or de la Nouvelle-Écosse ». Il était reconnu pour utiliser le motif de la fleur de mai (fleur provinciale de la Nouvelle-Écosse) dans de nombreuses pièces et il favorisait l’utilisation de l’or et des pierres de la province, comme l’améthyste, les agates et les perles d’eau douce. Il grava des immeubles historiques et des points d’intérêt locaux sur des cuillers souvenirs, et il créa des médailles et des insignes pour célébrer les réalisations d’autres Néo-Écossais.