Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Captain Campbell Hardy

Coloured engraving showing gold miners walking up between a “street” of wooden shaft houses and tents.

Many organizations were formed to pursue scientific study and research, with amateur artists and scientists joining together to learn more about the natural history of their lands. The Nova Scotia Institute of Science (NSIS) is one of these groups, which grew out of the interest aroused by the display of the province’s natural resources at the London Exhibition.

Perhaps best known for his publication, Forest Life in Acadie, Captain Campbell Hardy, of the Royal Artillery, lived in Nova Scotia for over 15 years and was not only one of the organisers of the Nova Scotia Institute of Science, but also a reputable sportsman, naturalist, artist, writer, and amateur scientist. Trained as a topographical draughtsman at the Royal Military Academy in Woolwich, Hardy continued the tradition of British military artists who documented early Canada.

Coloured engraving of men with cradles and picks along the beach at The Ovens, NS.

A hand-coloured wood engraving of Goldwashing Near Lunenburg, published in the London Illustrated News, September 14, 1861. Based on a drawing by Captain Campbell Hardy.

AGNS: 1995.452

Acting as a correspondent, Hardy had several engravings based on his drawings published in the Illustrated London News in 1861 alongside detailed reports from him about Nova Scotia during the first gold rush.

Capitaine Campbell Hardy

Gravure peinte montrant des mineurs d’or en train de marcher entre une « rue » de bâtiments de chevalements-abris en bois et de tentes.

De nombreux organismes réunissant des artistes amateurs et des scientifiques furent créés pour la réalisation d’études et de recherches scientifiques qui permettraient d’en apprendre davantage sur l’histoire naturelle de la région. Le Nova Scotian Institute of Science (NSIS) est l’un de ces groupes qui est né de l’intérêt qu’a éveillé l’étalage des ressources naturelles de la province à l’Exposition de Londres.

Le Capitaine Campbell Hardy, de l’Artillerie royale, qui est sans doute surtout renommé pour sa publication Forest Life in Acadie, a vécu en Nouvelle-Écosse pendant plus de 15 ans. Il fut non seulement l’un des organisateurs du Nova Scotian Institute of Science, mais également un fervent amateur de sports de plein air, naturaliste, artiste, écrivain et scientifique amateur réputé. Après une formation comme dessinateur topographique à l’Académie militaire royale Woolwich, Hardy poursuivit la tradition des artistes militaires britanniques qui ont contribué à la documentation des débuts du Canada.

Gravure peinte d’hommes munis de berceaux et de pioches le long de la plage à The Ovens, N.-É.

Gravure peinte à la main de Lavage d’or à la batée près de Lunenburg, publiée le 14 septembre 1861 dans le London Illustrated News. Basée sur un dessin du Capitaine Campbell Hardy.

AGNS: 1995.452

Plusieurs gravures basées sur les dessins de Hardy, qui agissait comme correspondant, ont été publiées dans l’Illustrated London News en 1861 en même temps que des comptes rendus détaillés de sa part au sujet de la Nouvelle-Écosse durant la première ruée vers l’or.