Themes

GOLD MINING    •    GOLD IN NATURE    •    GOLD IN SOCIETY    •    GOLD IN ART

Prints

Wood engraving of two men standing in an excavated field.

Very few people saw the original paintings done by artists in the 1800s, but the paintings were frequently used to create prints for newspapers and book illustrations. People were interested in learning about the new British colonies and by printing versions of these sketches, it allowed the British and colonial governments to publicise idealised visions of a welcoming land burgeoning with opportunity and wealth. PR is nothing new, and art has always played an important role in helping to sell a particular vision.

The prints were a great tool to advertise the new prosperity gleaned from Nova Scotia's gold fields, and captured the interest of investors and miners worldwide.

An engraving is made by cutting a design into the surface of a metal plate, or block of wood. The block or plate is then inked and printed on a page. During the 1800s an artist would submit drawings or sketches and the newspaper would give those originals to an engraver - frequently an ocean apart!

An engraving showing gold miners walking up between a 'street' of wooden shaft houses and tents in Tangier, NS.

A wood engraving of New Gold-diggings in Nova Scotia: Gold-Street, Tangier, published in the Illustrated London News, September 14, 1861. An unknown engraver based this print on a drawing by Captain Campbell Hardy.

AGNS: 2009.135

This separation between the original artist and the engraver, as well as the needs of the different mediums, means that the original watercolour and the engraving are rarely identical.

 A hand-coloured engraving showing the view of forested hills and lakes from Laidlaw's Farm near Waverley, Nova Scotia.

A hand-coloured wood engraving, Laidlaw's Farm, near Halifax, published in the London Illustrated News December 6, 1862. An engraver -"Smyth" - based this engraving on an original drawing by W. D. Thompson.

AGNS: 1995.462

The demand for published illustrations meant that larger papers often had several engravers working on multiple blocks of wood that could be combined to create one image very quickly. On some prints you can see "join" lines where the two blocks were placed together but may have slight alignment issues from the printing process. Once printed, it was not uncommon for engravings to be hand-coloured to give a more realistic look.

Gravures

Gravure sur bois de deux hommes debout dans un champ excavé.

Très peu de personnes ont vu les peintures originales réalisées par les artistes au cours des années 1800, mais on utilisait fréquemment les peintures pour créer des gravures pour les journaux et les illustrations de livres. Les gens souhaitaient se renseigner au sujet des nouvelles colonies britanniques et l’impression de versions de ces croquis permettait aux gouvernements britannique et colonial de publiciser des versions idéalisées de terres accueillantes bourgeonnant de possibilités et de richesses. Les relations publiques ne sont rien de neuf et l’art a toujours joué un rôle important pour aider à vendre une vision particulière.

Les gravures constituaient un superbe outil pour annoncer la prospérité nouvelle glanée des champs aurifères, de la Nouvelle-Écosse; elles captaient l’intérêt des investisseurs et des mineurs partout dans le monde.

Pour réaliser une gravure, on creuse un motif sur la surface d’une plaque de métal ou d’un bloc de bois. Le bloc ou la plaque est recouvert d’encre et imprimé sur une page. Pendant les années 1800, les artistes soumettaient des dessins ou des croquis, et le journal remettait les originaux à un graveur – fréquemment de l’autre côté de l’océan!

Gravure illustrant des mineurs d’or en train de marcher entre une « rue » de chevalements-abris en bois et de tentes à Tangier, N.-É.

Gravure sur bois de Nouvelles activités d’extraction d’or en Nouvelle-Écosse : rue de l’or, Tangier, publié dans « l’Illustrated London News », le 14 septembre 1861. Un graveur inconnu a préparé cette gravure à partir d’un dessin du Capitaine Campbell Hardy.

AGNS: 2009.135

Cette séparation entre l’artiste original et le graveur ainsi que les besoins liés aux différents médias font en sorte que l’aquarelle originale et la gravure sont rarement identiques.

 Gravure peinte à la main montrant la vue des collines boisées et des lacs qui s’offre de la ferme de Laidlaw près de Waverley, Nouvelle-Écosse.

Gravure sur bois peinte à la main, Ferme de Laidlaw près d’Halifax, publiée dans le London Illustrated News le 6 décembre 1862. Un graveur – « Smith » – a préparé cette gravure à partir d’un dessin original de W. D. Thompson.

AGNS: 1995.462

La demande de publication d’illustrations obligeait les grands journaux à faire souvent appel à plusieurs graveurs qui travaillaient sur plusieurs blocs de bois pouvant être combinés pour la création très rapide d’une image. On peut distinguer sur certaines gravures des lignes « jointes » à l’endroit où les deux blocs étaient réunis, mais pouvant présenter de légers problèmes d’alignement lors de l’impression. Une fois imprimée, il n’était pas rare que l’on peigne à la main les gravures afin de leur prêter un aspect plus réaliste.